Brandied Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Loved it, but a bit too salty. Will cut down on salt by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Loved it. Tasted like I was at a very expensive restaurant. I will buy a better piece of meat next time though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
At first I didn't understand what all the hype was about. The sauce tasted so so. Something happened though, as I kept eating it, and my husband agrees with this, the flavor got better. At the end of our meal we found that we really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Love it! Made this twice now. Did I mention I loved it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
It bugs me when people change ten things and then rate a recipe 5 stars. That said, I changed a bunch of stuff and am rating this 5 stars! That's because the the technique outlined here would produce great results regardless of the changes I made. I didn't have any of the fresh herbs, so I left them out (didn't want to attempt with dry herbs as I think they would just burn). ALso I had no veal demi glace (shocker) so I used plain old beef broth. Otherwise followed recipe, and it was nearly as amazing as the fancy restaurant dish that made me want to try this. One major tip though, unless you have high ceilings and a good metal range hood, take the pan outside to add the brandy/ignite. I was really glad I did when I saw the 8 foot flames shoot up! The sauce comes out a little salty, but soooo good, and the restaurant's version was salty too, so I think that is how it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three-Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We had fun making this one. It was the first time we had ever intentionally ever lit anything on fire in our kitchen! LOL! I would stop after the fire step and NOT use the cream. It made the steak heavy and added an unnecessary flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I enjoyed an easier depiction of this recipe. Using olive oil and butter instead of clarified butter. And using beef bouillon instead of veal demi-glace. It came out very good, and the flaming brandy is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good! Demi-glace is a bit hard to find--I ended up going to a smaller grocery store to find it. I halved the salt, used margarine instead of butter, and used half and half. It was a little bit salty, but that's because I didn't "clarify" the margarine. To ignite the brandy, I lit the end of an uncooked linguine noodle and put the tip in the sauce. I also made the roux, but thought the sauce was thick enough after adding the half and half. I used the top round steak, which ended up a little tough. I would suggest buying a better cut. The sauce was SO good, though, that the meat toughness almost didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Have made similar brandied steaks but the flavor of the oil in these is much better. Will not use round steak - much too dry. Prefer strip loin or sirloin. Certainly impressive company fare. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States