Brandied Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This is an excellent recipe that is easy to make with a sauce that is to die for. Serve with a good red wine to bring out the truely remarkable flavors of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This was an excellent tasting steak. The sauce was absolutely delicious. I found it a bit dry though. I think the cooking time may have been too long. This one will stay in my Recipe file. Try it with Cabernet Sauvignon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Have made similar brandied steaks but the flavor of the oil in these is much better. Will not use round steak - much too dry. Prefer strip loin or sirloin. Certainly impressive company fare. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This recipe is good, but not perfect. Make sure you go easy on the salt to avoid having an extremely salty pan sauce. Further, if your are using a thicker cut of meat, I would suggest searing the steaks on both sides and finishing in a hot oven (obviously use a oven-proof pan). This provides much beeter results with the meat as opposed to an excessively long pan-fry as noted. The oil made from the sage, rosemary, and thyme is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
The meat you should use for this recipe is Chateaubriand not top round as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good! Demi-glace is a bit hard to find--I ended up going to a smaller grocery store to find it. I halved the salt, used margarine instead of butter, and used half and half. It was a little bit salty, but that's because I didn't "clarify" the margarine. To ignite the brandy, I lit the end of an uncooked linguine noodle and put the tip in the sauce. I also made the roux, but thought the sauce was thick enough after adding the half and half. I used the top round steak, which ended up a little tough. I would suggest buying a better cut. The sauce was SO good, though, that the meat toughness almost didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I did not use the roux and I only cooked 8 minutes per side. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. Absolutely awsome!! Next time I am going to try some Drambuie fresh out of the freezer for a topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Although this is a bit of work and takes time to make the demi-glace from scratch it is well worth it. Everyone loved it and I will most definitly make it again. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Heck yeah! I loved cooking this recipe just as much as i loved eating it. I made with mashed potatoes and corn and the meal was delicious. The sauce was banging. This is going in the top 5 file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BISODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budd Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Frisco, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
TRY IT!!! Made this twice now. Its one of the most wonderful tasting steaks I've had off the grill. The sauce is great over rice as well... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States