Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by vegan4ever
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe is great but I use wine instead of brandy to save myself the trip to the liquor store and honestly I'd rather use my favorite winery's wine instead of random brandy. That said, there are some really funny comments on here and they are way off base. First, if you use 2/3rds orange it isn't too orangy (I'm not a fan of using too much orange personally and the first time I tried it I didn't use much and it tasted awful). Secondly, 8 oranges? Really? Wasteful. Use one navel orange or if you can even manage to locate it two small to medium organic oranges but Key West struggles on this aspect. Publix gets tangerines by the buckets but not organic oranges. So I just washed my one big navel orange really well and rinsed it well and yes, I used a potato peeler because it doesn't matter that I'm engaged to be married. I am OCD but the white part won't leave the water that bitter. You are only using 1/3rd of the water, not all of it, and the rind, the smaller it is, the more is likely to get into your pot. I just peeled in big chunks. That said this go around it came out spanktacular and I wish my family was down here to enjoy it because it is like candy it is that good. A few tips: sift through your cranberries. a quarter of my bag of cranberries were *bad* and I just bought them fresh yesterday and it was one of the more fresh bags in the store. Literally bringing back the bad ones. Don't move to Key West. lol. Oh, thanks to OP for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Amazing! I have never really enjoyed cranberry sauce. I am embarassed to say I liked jellied cranberries. Not after tasting this phenomenal recipe. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe is awesome, and I've been making it for several years. It has an incredible flavor and the brandy kicks it up a notch! I usually do half the zest and the sugar, and it is still plenty zesty and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The best cranberry sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
There are many Cranberry Sauce recipes. This is one of the best and will be on my table every Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil
Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
What a perfect compliment to a Thanksgiving dinner! Didn't have any brandy, though, but was still wonderful and had people fighting over the leftovers, and who got to take it home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Katya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This cranberry sauce is so good. My sugar boiled over so I didn't get to simmer it for three minutes, but it didn't seem to matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This is really good! Just be absolutely sure you don't use the pith! (the white part). I did use about half the amount of zest as others recommended, and I also added a stick of cinnamon to step two and removed it at the end. Oh, and DON'T THROW AWAY THE ORANGE WATER that you worked so hard to make!! Substitute it for water in whatever recipe might taste better with a hint of orange, or add an equal amount of sugar to it, heat to dissolve and you have a wonderful orange simple syrup. You can use it to make recipes, or even mix with your leftover brandy to make some really good cocktails (I added mine to our batch of sangria we make every year and it came out extra delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy and delicious. I added a little cinnamon. I was a little confused by the directions about reserving the zest and it really didn't say when to add it, I guess it was suppose to go with the reserved water. Didn't have brandy so use orange liquor. Came out fantantic. I picked this recipe because my daughter's name is Claudia also and I figured it had to be good. Thanks, already in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I left out the brandy, but it was still awesome. For someone who doesn't like Cranberry sauce I really liked it. Made it for Thanksgiving and we had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States