Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I'm not a big fan of canned cranberry sauce, and when I decided to use this recipe for Thanksgiving I had no idea it was going to turn out so yummy. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. The orange and brandy really brought out the flavor, although I did cut back on the orange zest. Wonderful recipe, and much prettier than the canned alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Made it for Thanksgiving and I added a few blueberries to the dish. The children devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
The best recipe for cranberries I've ever found - really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This is great cranberry sauce! I did not use the brandy and it was still really good. Note: I think it needs to be cooked for a little longer than the recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This cranberry sauce was very tasty but WAY TOO MUCH ZEST…for thanksgiving my boyfriend and I made this and his brother made another cranberry sauce from this site and our sauce won "Battle Cranberry" but the strings of zest were weird to eat! Cut down to only a little and in small pieces or none at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
A nice zesty addition to the holiday menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I try a new cranberry-sauce recipe every holiday, and this one has gotten far and away the best reception. Unlike the other reviewers I *increased* the zest and was pleased with the results. (Expect to cook it down a bit longer than indicated, though.) If you manage to have any left after the meal, you'll find it's also wonderful on vanilla ice cream. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I've hunted for cranberry sauce that was "slap your grandma in the creek" good for many years. This one seems to be it. Though easy to make, any one of three things can degrade the result so heed the following: If you don’t have the brandy, don’t bother making the recipe - it's still ok, but brandy pulls out some vital flavor in this mix. Use a good fine zester and avoid the white part of the rind, which means you may need about 8 medium sized oranges. Finally, don’t undercook or overcook the sauce and you're most likely to undercook it (helpful huh?) Oh, in my opinion the sauce benefits from resting at least one day before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
A winner - even non cranberry people liked it - but if you don't want all the juice -- whisk together 1Tbs cornstarch and 2 Tbs cold water and slowly add to hot mixture and whisk to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Yum. I kind of made up my own recipe to this, and it turned out great... 1 Cup Orange juice 1 Cup Brown sugar 12 oz package cranberries 1 cinnamon stick And a little water to cover cranberries....Yummmmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States