Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I substituted 2-3 tsp of bottle dry orange peel instead of the orange zest. It was such a hit at the Thanksgiving table - there was nothing left. Now, that's something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINTHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My sister and I whipped this recipe up the night before Thanksgiving and it was a winner. My taste rating is a 4 star because I thought it was just a little off, but everyone liked it so well...that I couldn't bring myself to give it a lower rating. We did have to zest the orange using a grater as I could not find my zester. Anyway, you won't miss with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was good, but I didn't get the method of cooking the zest in 2 cups of water and then draining it to a 1/3 of a cup. Next time, I would just use less water. I also used about 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Nice flavor but I like cranberry sauce with more of a orange-y flavor. I'll definitely make this again, I'll just try and add more zest to make it more to my liking. Everyone else that ate it loved it--even my kids who are 3 & 4 years old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I have made this recipe for four years straight... my family loves it and now is requesting it for every thanksgiving! I normally add a little more brandy or a little Jack... to kick it up a knotch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
this is one of the best homemade cranberry sauces i have yet to taste. as i grew up my grandmother and mother always had the canned one which was good. but i made this for the first time 2 years ago and will never go back to canned again. every Thanksgiving my family requests this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I made this for the first time to use at our Christmas in July festivities and it was a runaway best seller!!! I was not able to get fresh or frozen berries here in Queensland Australia so substituted with 2 cans of drained berries. I also reduced the orange zest to 1/3 cup and the sugar to 1 cup. The end result was more like a jelly but I wanted it thick so I boiled it longer than the recipe suggested. The extra sugar present in the canned berries would have contributed to the jelly setting. It had a great flavour and fantastic consistency and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've made this recipe a few times now and it always gets rave reviews from my guests. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I served this at Thanksgiving. Everyone LOVED it and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
We love this recipe - it has become the family favourite at all the "turkey" holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States