Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This sauce was very very good. I would only suggest reducing the apple brandy just a very small bit or perhaps mixing it in while the sauce is still cooking to simmer out some of the alcohol taste. It was just too overpowering. Everything else balances perfectly and this recipe (as is) is definately worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Outstanding. 2 people at dinner asked for the recipe. My daughter's boyfriend said it was the best he's ever had and he loved cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Everyone raves about this sauce! I cut the zest down to l/3 c. because I only had 3 large oranges and was getting tired of the zesting process. The flavor was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I agree with everyone else cook it a little longer and don't put as much zest in. But it was easy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum - can't wait to try it over ice-cream once the turkeys eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm good. I have now made this 5 times and it is absolutely scrumptious. If you don't like it you didn't make it right. Zest is not enormously long strings that need to be picked out or cut up. Use a zester. It benefits from being cooked too long but not cooking long enough will not enhance it. Don't worry that you might be cooking it too long. Take a little time, don't change anything and it will be well worth it. By the way, rind and zest are not the same thing, this recipe should not contain any rind, only zest. It takes a bunch (8 or so) oranges to do this right and the particles of zest will be small and will blend with the cranberries if done right. Its worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
I found a version of this recipe in Woman's Day a few years ago, and I never fail to make it. Everyone always thinks of that "jello" sauce out of a can and cringes when I mention cranberry sauce, but they have always loved this one. In that other recipe, take oranges (in this case 4)and cut them in half in a zig-zag fashion and hollow them out, leaving only the peel, like an orange bowl. When the sauce cools, spoon it into the orange halves. Surround the sauce with sliced toasted almonds and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas - my sister was eating it by the bowl! Thanks - this will be a holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I know that when my husband goes back for third helpings, the dish muct be a winner. I used a very high grade of brandy and it was sublime. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
Wow!! My dad and I are the only people who eat cranberry sauce in my family. Between the two of us, we almost finished the whole bowl. It is an excellent complement to turkey. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States