Brandied Orange and Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Gets rave reviews every time! People really look forward to me bringing it to Thanksgiving. I'm a little concerned about calories so I reduce the sugar to 1.5 cups and it works just fine. Also, don't bother buying orange juice. Instead, use the juice from the oranges you just zested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
A rare 5 stars, just perfect! Easy, simple but deep in essence. Take care to measure, measure, measure... then add more brandy. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONPROSSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Followed the advice of other users and halved the amount of zest. I still had to zest 4 whole oranges to get that much, but I was able to use the oranges for the 2/3 cups of juice required in the recipe. I'm not a big fan of white sugar, so I replaced it with raw sugar. I was worried that there might remain a raw sugar aftertaste, but I didn't notice anything amiss. I also used 1/2 teaspoon of ascorbic acid (vitamic C powder...available in many health food stores) mixed with 1 tablespoon of water instead of the lemon juice. It does the same thickening work that the lemon juice does but without the lemony flavor. Finally, I used Cointreau orange liqueur instead of the brandy for a final orange kick. It was wonderful. All in all, this was a great recipe that rewards you for the extra time put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
we love this recipe and will continue to make it at least every thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My usual one beats this one, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Excellent recipe. A little time consuming, but well worth it. I decreased the orange zest to 1/3 cup and it was perfect. I also cooked it about three times as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This has a full-bodied brandy flavor and a nice tangy zip that compliments your meal...you just hate to see the bottom of the bowl!!! There were a lot of compliments on this from my family and friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Made this last year and it was a huge hit. I made extra, jarred it and gave it to different family members. Let's just say, my aunt didn't want to share. Only change, 1/3 orange zest, instead of 2/3's! Best Recipe Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is delicious, much better than plain cranberry sauce. Make sure to grate the zest very finely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
So delicious!! I added more brandy. Used raw sugar instead. Love this one. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States