Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I substituted dark rum for the brandy. I also put chopped pecans mixed with brown sugar on top and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Delicious and different! My son and I really enjoyed these. I agree with some of the other reviewers that you have to cook the sauce down till it loses that strong alcohol flavor and develops a glaze-like consistency. Best sweet potato recipe I've ever tried - definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I made it three times over the Thanksgiving holiday (three different Thanksgivings... mmmmmm) and every time, people wanted the recipe. Its delicious, and I recommend cooking it longer than the recipe says by an extra 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Delicious! Much more sophisticated flavor than the usual candied sweet potatoes with marshmallows. The recipe did not say to cook until the glaze thickens, but I assume that's what is supposed to happen. It did take awhile to thicken, but it didn't require constant stirring, so I was able to work on other foods while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
As a B.S. nutritionist, I am always looking for low-cal, low-fat options for my patients. This is a lot less sweet than regular candied sweet potatoes. I, and my diabetic husband, really enjoyed this recipe. The brandy really brings out the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes and isn't masked by excessive marshmellows!!! I've even shared this recipe with my nutrition ed. classes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Very good - most definitely not your ordinary yams with melted marshmellows on top. These had a distinct flavor that was not rooted in sugary sweetness. Instead, it was much more refined and complex while the dish itself was lighter on the palette than the standard faire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These were the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. It took a while for the glaze to reduce, but the end result was heavenly. The brandy added a great taste without being overpowering. This will be our Thanksgiving sweet potato recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
A wonderful, easy, adult-tasting recipe. Served it for Thanksgiving and it went wonderfully with all the other flavors. You can just get a hint of the brandy coming through and it's wonderful. Will use less butter next time though. Didn't need half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I have been making this recipe for years. It's always a big hit. If I am short on stove top space, I have made the sauce and pour on top of uncooked sliced potatoes and baked in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States