Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
These were definitely my favorite this year...it's an easy dish, and comes out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this recipe for our Thanksgiving gathering of 2004 and it was a BIG hit! It was liked by all even those that did not care for sweet potatoes. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
These were awesome and a welcome alternative to my regular recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Delicious! Much more sophisticated flavor than the usual candied sweet potatoes with marshmallows. The recipe did not say to cook until the glaze thickens, but I assume that's what is supposed to happen. It did take awhile to thicken, but it didn't require constant stirring, so I was able to work on other foods while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
These were the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. It took a while for the glaze to reduce, but the end result was heavenly. The brandy added a great taste without being overpowering. This will be our Thanksgiving sweet potato recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
A wonderful, easy, adult-tasting recipe. Served it for Thanksgiving and it went wonderfully with all the other flavors. You can just get a hint of the brandy coming through and it's wonderful. Will use less butter next time though. Didn't need half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
As a B.S. nutritionist, I am always looking for low-cal, low-fat options for my patients. This is a lot less sweet than regular candied sweet potatoes. I, and my diabetic husband, really enjoyed this recipe. The brandy really brings out the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes and isn't masked by excessive marshmellows!!! I've even shared this recipe with my nutrition ed. classes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I substituted dark rum for the brandy. I also put chopped pecans mixed with brown sugar on top and baked it at 350 for 30 minutes. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States