Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
OUT OF THIS WORLD Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Awesome! Used 1/2 canned sweet potatoes (because they were there, and needed using up) and 1/2 fresh cooked. It was great. Put on marshmallows, because my spoiled husband won't eat yams without them, but even he commented that these would be great with out the marshmallows. I made these up early undercooking, then put them in the oven to warm...well some of the family was VERY late arriving, so they baked and baked. Instead of becoming mash, they caramelized really nicely. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've been bringing this dish to Thanksgiving for 12 years. Last year I showed up with a different sweet potato dish and was met with looks of horror. Later on, my mother pulled me quietly aside and told me to never pull anything like that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
The only brandy I had was orange brandy. It was fabulous. I will be making this again for sure and will probably use the orange brandy again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
If I could give it 50 stars I would. This was fantastic! Everyone loved this and the flavors are out of this world. Even the ones that don't like sweet potatoes loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I liked the flavor that the brandy added, however 1/2 cup is way more than was needed. I used 1/4 cup and it came out much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made a batch to serve 8...didn't have a way to measure out 1-1/4 pounds of sweet potatoes, so I just cubed 2. Very light-sweet glaze, and the taste of the sweet potato was not lost. I really enjoyed it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Fabulous!! Much better than marshmallow usual. stayed with original recipe and all was great for a Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbianne Gramer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Love this! I substituted 1/4 C. Grand Marnier + 1/4 C. fresh orange juice for the brandy and added a bit of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Having no brandy, I substituted with spiced rum and the dish was still delicious! I took another reviewer's advice and baked it. The glaze thickens as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States