Brandied Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My husband couldn't stop raving about these sweet potatoes. I thought the alcohol taste was a little overwhelming & I would suggest reducing the sauce down to be more like a glaze before adding the potatoes. Very easy. Will continue to make it for husband but will try cutting back on the brandy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Hubby really, really liked these. I simmered the butter and brandy for about 8 minutes on low before adding brown sugar to give it a smooth/non-alcohol flavor!... Very good! Also topped with pecans and a few miniature marshmallows. Picture was before I browned them at Moms on Thanksgiving! I use yams instead of sweet potatoes because of the bright pretty color... The taste and texture is the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is very good, however each year we cook the sweet potatoes less and less and it gets better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goleta, California, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These are YAMS, not Sweet Potatoes. Sweet Potatoes are off-white and do not have the flavor of YAMS. I add pecans and some cranberries for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
It wasn't sweet enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hefziba
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I used dark cognac and add a pinch of nutmeg. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hefziba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This recipe is sooo good, my whole family loved it. It was very easy to make, and also easy to adjust. I hear other people comment on the brandy but no one in my family could taste it, in fact I had to tell my mother brandy was an ingredient. I could smell the brandy but I could not taste it. I made the recipe exactly as it was listed and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was very good with one small change. Instead of brandy I used bourbon, the flavors just meash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This went over well at Thanksgiving-some said they could taste the brandy, some said they couldnt. I liked them better the day after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
A fabulous addition to my trial-run Thanksgiving. Guests LOVED the sweetness and even recommended mashing the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States