Brandied Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Oh my...can you say YUM? Good way to use up extra bananas, but this is SO good, I'd even buy them FOR this! I used the brandy, but I think it would work just as well with other liquors such as rum, maybe even Kahlua! The molasses does not overpower either, which is nice. I'm having some right now over vanilla ice cream. Thanks chervilla for an easy and excellent recipe that I'm sure to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is crazy good, and the molasses doesn't overwhelm (as it often can). So easy, so quick, and so tasty! I'd recommend you start with a fairly firm banana, because it cooks quickly and could turn to mush if overcooked. I served over half of a vertically-cut pear which had very nice presentation. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Really quick and easy. A great topping for french toast, instead of using syrup or sugar. I didn't have any pecans, and I added some strawberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Delicious!! MUST use the molasses!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A simple and quick dessert I served over ice-cream, it was a good way to use two over-ripe bananas. I think you can use many choices of alcohol. I used butterscotch schnapps and omitted the molasses as I thought that would be sweet enough. No pecans so substituted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Easy, simple and awesome - used Grand Marnier instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
So yummy! I used a little more butter, bourbon instead of brandy (that's what I had) and no nuts. So yummy! Next time I will try with nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Easy enough to make but next time I will use brown sugar instead of molasses. I used rum instead of brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States