Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
A nice muffin that isn't too sweet but very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Pretty amazing. I added about 3 tablespoons of brown sugar though. They taste wonderful and they are so moist! I bake about 3 dozen muffins every week and these will become a regular pick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2001
Quick, yummy, and healthy! Great with apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I was worried that these wouldn't be sweet enough so I added .5 cup of brown sugar. I like that they make 2 dozen muffins. One dozen in a recipe just isn't enough. The kids ate them up like crazy so these are definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Definitely a GREAT breakfast muffin... my batch turned out perfectly moist, but i did make a few changes. Instead of buttermilk, I used two cups of plain yogurt, and i replaced two tablespoons of butter with two tablespoons of apple sauce. I added half a cup of raisins which upped the sweetness. Chopped dates would probably work too. Like others, I added brown sugar: a 1/4 cup. I also used a little more whole wheat flour and a little less white flour. Finally, instead of an egg, I used egg replacer. The mix was not extremely wet and i was worried the muffins would be a little dry, but they werent at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
These muffins are extremely moist and delicious. I added 1/2 c. raisins, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. nutmeg and 1/4 t. cloves. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Seemed to only make about 15 the way I filled the cups. They're not sweet, but I made them as a joke [iced them as cupcakes for someone turning 45], and no one realized they weren't a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I have been using this recipe for over one year ~ I scaled it up to make 48, which I freeze 7 per bag ~ and I find that they are delicious and very healthy. I also add crushed walnuts (3 cups), which adds extra taste and texture, as well as nutrition. These are the best muffins I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I had some "All Bran" cereal so threw it in the food processor for the bran part of the recipe. Added 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 nutmeg, tsp. vanilla, and used applesauce in place of the butter. These baked up like a picture, were fluffy nice and had a nice flavor with the spices. This made 12 regular size and 4 giant size muffins. Very healthy and when you consider the nutrition value w/such few fat grams and the fiber, they are really great! A wonderful breakfast muffin with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Yum! It totally worked for me but with some vital changes-used whole wheat pastry for the white flour, added 1/2 cup Splenda & 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cinn & used honey instead of molasses. I also used applesauce for the butter. Don't worry about these changes upping the calories-it stays low & I got 24 muffins out of this. Loved the healthy ingredients. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States