Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I think the molasses flavor was too strong. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!!!! I did take one other's reviewer's suggestion, and used applesauce instead of butter, vanilla soy milk, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, When I ground up the allbran cereal in the blender, I added the soy milk with it so I didn't burn the motor out on my blender. I added a little extra cinnamon(about an extra tsp) and a little extra brown sugar (about 1 Tbs). Then to top it off I added a tiny bit of unsweetened cocoa. Dried cranberies are a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I really like this! I made it even a little healthier by using all whole wheat flour instead of some white flour. I added some wheat germ in place of a little of the flour. To help it rise well with all whole wheat flour, I used a little extra baking soda. I added some raisins... it was nice to add some sweetness. I don't think it needed any sugar added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a good basic bran muffin recipe. I filled the muffin cups 3/4 full, and it made 14...nowhere near the 24 indicated. I added a half cup of raisins. They had the right amount of sweetness for me. I don't like an overly sweet bran muffin because I serve them w/ jam or marmalade. I will make these a regular at my breakfast table. A good, healthy, no-nonsense muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these! I've been searching for good bran muffins for years, after having some quite awhile ago. I have finally found some I like. I also replaced 2 tbsp. butter with unsweetened applesauce, and added just a little bit of brown sugar (maybe 1 - 2 tbsp., I didn't have much left so I dumped it all in). I also added a cup or so of frozen blueberries. They are very good! I froze them so I could eat them a little at a time and they are good when thawed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
pretty good... made my own changes. half recipe makes 12 small muffins. instead of buttermilk I used a milk vinager mix. I replaced molassess with .5 cup brown sugar. Ididn't have any bran on hand so I used 1.75 cups of whole wheat flour and ommitted the white flour. I recommend using 1 extra egg, the mix was sort of dry. orange zest mixes in nicely for a little kick. overall, nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Thanks for all the suggestions for this recipe. It's 5 * because I added 1/2 c brown sugar and fresh blueberries! Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I found them flat tasting. I can see why some have added a few spices and brown sugar. They are moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was a fine bran recipe! Both kids ate them for breakfast without complaints! I made the following changes: used 1/4 c. molasses instead of measuring out 6 TBSP, added 1/4 c. packed brown sugar, used vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk, used olive oil instead of butter. My baking time was 17 minutes - these rose very well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I had to give this recipe 4 stars, not because they aren't great tasting, cause they are but the recipe stated you could use paper cups.....BIG mistake! The muffins stuck to the paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States