Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!!!! I did take one other's reviewer's suggestion, and used applesauce instead of butter, vanilla soy milk, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, When I ground up the allbran cereal in the blender, I added the soy milk with it so I didn't burn the motor out on my blender. I added a little extra cinnamon(about an extra tsp) and a little extra brown sugar (about 1 Tbs). Then to top it off I added a tiny bit of unsweetened cocoa. Dried cranberies are a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I really like this! I made it even a little healthier by using all whole wheat flour instead of some white flour. I added some wheat germ in place of a little of the flour. To help it rise well with all whole wheat flour, I used a little extra baking soda. I added some raisins... it was nice to add some sweetness. I don't think it needed any sugar added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a good basic bran muffin recipe. I filled the muffin cups 3/4 full, and it made 14...nowhere near the 24 indicated. I added a half cup of raisins. They had the right amount of sweetness for me. I don't like an overly sweet bran muffin because I serve them w/ jam or marmalade. I will make these a regular at my breakfast table. A good, healthy, no-nonsense muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I love these! I've been searching for good bran muffins for years, after having some quite awhile ago. I have finally found some I like. I also replaced 2 tbsp. butter with unsweetened applesauce, and added just a little bit of brown sugar (maybe 1 - 2 tbsp., I didn't have much left so I dumped it all in). I also added a cup or so of frozen blueberries. They are very good! I froze them so I could eat them a little at a time and they are good when thawed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
pretty good... made my own changes. half recipe makes 12 small muffins. instead of buttermilk I used a milk vinager mix. I replaced molassess with .5 cup brown sugar. Ididn't have any bran on hand so I used 1.75 cups of whole wheat flour and ommitted the white flour. I recommend using 1 extra egg, the mix was sort of dry. orange zest mixes in nicely for a little kick. overall, nice and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Thanks for all the suggestions for this recipe. It's 5 * because I added 1/2 c brown sugar and fresh blueberries! Delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I found them flat tasting. I can see why some have added a few spices and brown sugar. They are moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was a fine bran recipe! Both kids ate them for breakfast without complaints! I made the following changes: used 1/4 c. molasses instead of measuring out 6 TBSP, added 1/4 c. packed brown sugar, used vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk, used olive oil instead of butter. My baking time was 17 minutes - these rose very well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I had to give this recipe 4 stars, not because they aren't great tasting, cause they are but the recipe stated you could use paper cups.....BIG mistake! The muffins stuck to the paper cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Made these with some changes, added 2 apples shredded and peeled, cinnamon, 3 splenda packets, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, only 1 1/2 TB butter and did not have molasses...wish I would have. They turned out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States