Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I was searching all over the internet for a good but very healthy recipe for bran muffins. I tried recipes from other websites including Americas Test Kitchen and Martha Stewart but still couldn't find the right one. This is a VERY GOOD recipe but I made it better and arguably healthier. I used all whole what pastry flour instead of half whole and half white. I used a 50%50% mixture of wheat bran and oat bran. As other posters have noted, the muffins are not very sweet so I also added a 1/4 cup of honey and a 1/2 cup dried berries. I used one egg and one white instead of just the one egg called for in the recipe. I also substituted canola oil for the butter. Lastly, I doubled the size and only got 13 muffins but they rose higher and had the traditional "muffin top" dome. In order to keep the calories down I can only have a half a muffin for breakfast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I didn't listen to previous reviews about adding sugar and I was sorry I didn't. I was worried these muffins would not be sweet enough and I was right. They were definetely moist and with a little butter, I was able to tolerate the lack of sweetness, but I should have added sugar. I was not crazy about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I LOVE these muffins!!! So healthy, yet so tasty and moist! A winner! Thank you, Saundra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These were great, super moist BUT i did make a few changes. I added two very ripe bananas, 1 tablespoon honey and abot 1/4 flax seed, and some raisins. Perfect muffin for kiddos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Great muffins! Was looking for something healthy and easy for breakfast. Made a few changes - replaced molasses with honey, buttermilk with regular milk, used all whole wheat flour and oat bran (was the only bran i could find), and replaced butter with applesauce. I added a cup of walnuts, 1 large grated carrot, 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple and 1 teaspoon each cinnamon and cloves. Still not sweet but I don't mind as I don't care for things too sweet. Make sure that you grease the pan! I used paper cups and the muffins stuck...what a waste of a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed these muffins, but I did make some changes suggested by the other reviewers. I used all whole wheat flour (2 cups). I used 4 tbsp molasses and 2 tbsp honey because I don't like a strong molasses flavour. I used 2 egg whites instead 1 whole egg, and 3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce (instead of butter). I also added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I've added 1/3 cup of raisins to a batch, and between 1/3 - 1/2 cup of mixed blueberries and raspberries to another and they've both been delicious. Next batch I'm going to try either banana and walnuts, or cranberries and blueberries. Yum! A lot of the changes I made were just to make them a bit healthier, but they'd probably be good without the changes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'm sorry. I followed the recipe precisely. The flavor was akin to that of wet paper towels. I should have suspected it would be, when I saw the only sweetening was 6 Tbsp of molasses. I had to cover one with 2 Tbsp of honey just to get it down. Disappointing waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I think I am in love! These are awesome muffins, and so guilt-free! My slight changes were: I switched the molasses out for honey because I prefer it, added 2 tsp of cinnamon, did the 2 TBS of white vinegar plus enough skim milk to equal 2 cups in place of buttermilk, and added applesauce for the butter. They baked about 15 minutes and I just gobbled two down! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I halved the recipe and used oat bran instead of wheat bran, and all whole white wheat flour instead of part all purpose flour. I also used honey instead of molasses, accidentally used the full amount of salt, and used a whole egg. They turned out great! They are very dense and hearty, more like drop biscuits in a muffin cup. I really like how they turned out though. My fiance has even been eating them. They're good reheated in the microwave, with a little bit of jam or honey or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe. I modify it all the time though. I find it a great base then add stuff like walnuts, sunflower seeds, ground flax seed, grated carrots, choc chips, yogurt, raisins, blueberries. Great way to start the day with a healthy bran muffin and a coffee, then I'm good to go for my power walk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States