Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I didn't listen to previous reviews about adding sugar and I was sorry I didn't. I was worried these muffins would not be sweet enough and I was right. They were definetely moist and with a little butter, I was able to tolerate the lack of sweetness, but I should have added sugar. I was not crazy about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I LOVE these muffins!!! So healthy, yet so tasty and moist! A winner! Thank you, Saundra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These were great, super moist BUT i did make a few changes. I added two very ripe bananas, 1 tablespoon honey and abot 1/4 flax seed, and some raisins. Perfect muffin for kiddos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Great muffins! Was looking for something healthy and easy for breakfast. Made a few changes - replaced molasses with honey, buttermilk with regular milk, used all whole wheat flour and oat bran (was the only bran i could find), and replaced butter with applesauce. I added a cup of walnuts, 1 large grated carrot, 1/2 cup of crushed pineapple and 1 teaspoon each cinnamon and cloves. Still not sweet but I don't mind as I don't care for things too sweet. Make sure that you grease the pan! I used paper cups and the muffins stuck...what a waste of a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed these muffins, but I did make some changes suggested by the other reviewers. I used all whole wheat flour (2 cups). I used 4 tbsp molasses and 2 tbsp honey because I don't like a strong molasses flavour. I used 2 egg whites instead 1 whole egg, and 3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce (instead of butter). I also added 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I've added 1/3 cup of raisins to a batch, and between 1/3 - 1/2 cup of mixed blueberries and raspberries to another and they've both been delicious. Next batch I'm going to try either banana and walnuts, or cranberries and blueberries. Yum! A lot of the changes I made were just to make them a bit healthier, but they'd probably be good without the changes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I'm sorry. I followed the recipe precisely. The flavor was akin to that of wet paper towels. I should have suspected it would be, when I saw the only sweetening was 6 Tbsp of molasses. I had to cover one with 2 Tbsp of honey just to get it down. Disappointing waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I think I am in love! These are awesome muffins, and so guilt-free! My slight changes were: I switched the molasses out for honey because I prefer it, added 2 tsp of cinnamon, did the 2 TBS of white vinegar plus enough skim milk to equal 2 cups in place of buttermilk, and added applesauce for the butter. They baked about 15 minutes and I just gobbled two down! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I halved the recipe and used oat bran instead of wheat bran, and all whole white wheat flour instead of part all purpose flour. I also used honey instead of molasses, accidentally used the full amount of salt, and used a whole egg. They turned out great! They are very dense and hearty, more like drop biscuits in a muffin cup. I really like how they turned out though. My fiance has even been eating them. They're good reheated in the microwave, with a little bit of jam or honey or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a great recipe. I modify it all the time though. I find it a great base then add stuff like walnuts, sunflower seeds, ground flax seed, grated carrots, choc chips, yogurt, raisins, blueberries. Great way to start the day with a healthy bran muffin and a coffee, then I'm good to go for my power walk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
very good, mine took about 25 min to cook though, but made large muffins :)...also next time will add just a bit of brown sugar for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States