Bran Muffins III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
These muffins were pretty good, but a little bland. Next time, I will try adding mashed ripe banana, as another reviewer suggested. I will also try a suggestion from someone else(franconia57)to add raisins, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is a good recipie, however could use soem extra flavor. I put in some orange rind and sugar on top to spice it up a bit. You could also substitute bran for bran cereal (just place in blender and make smooth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I have been using this recipe for over one year ~ I scaled it up to make 48, which I freeze 7 per bag ~ and I find that they are delicious and very healthy. I also add crushed walnuts (3 cups), which adds extra taste and texture, as well as nutrition. These are the best muffins I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This recipe was easy to make and is pretty good. My husband really loves them, and says they're just sweet enough for him. They weren't for me, so I added a mashed ripe banana and they were really awesome! Good recipe for a breakfast or snack muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
good, healthy muffin. I made few slight changes. Replace wheat bran with 1 c wheat bran and 1/2 c flax seed (ground). Replace 6 TBS molasses with 4 TBS molasses and 2 TBS honey. Also add 2 ripe bananas. very moist with good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
I agree with GUPPY9's review posted on 6/2/02. The recipe needs more help as sugested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Seemed to only make about 15 the way I filled the cups. They're not sweet, but I made them as a joke [iced them as cupcakes for someone turning 45], and no one realized they weren't a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
These muffins are extremely moist and delicious. I added 1/2 c. raisins, 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. nutmeg and 1/4 t. cloves. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Definitely a GREAT breakfast muffin... my batch turned out perfectly moist, but i did make a few changes. Instead of buttermilk, I used two cups of plain yogurt, and i replaced two tablespoons of butter with two tablespoons of apple sauce. I added half a cup of raisins which upped the sweetness. Chopped dates would probably work too. Like others, I added brown sugar: a 1/4 cup. I also used a little more whole wheat flour and a little less white flour. Finally, instead of an egg, I used egg replacer. The mix was not extremely wet and i was worried the muffins would be a little dry, but they werent at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Not bad. They aren't very flashy, but a good breakfast that is not too sweet in the AM. (and only 1 point!) Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States