Bran Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
A wonderful recipe. Next time I will probably use all bran cereal, but these were wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great recipe! The muffins are good plain, or with blueberries added, or chocolate chips, and I've even added chopped apple, pecans and cinnamon. This one is a definite keeper! Many thanks Tammy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
These are great! I put a drop of pumpkin butter in the middle and they are fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe makes moist, surprisingly light muffins. I cut the sugar back to two cups, they were still plenty sweet. I also used all Raisin Bran cereal, then added extra raisins. I also added 3 tsp. vanilla. These would be terrific with chopped nuts and other goodies, but then my kids wouldn't eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
My husband LOVED this recipe & wants me to use it from now on. Batter lasts a while, too, which is great, since it makes so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This recipe is at least 40 years old! At that time they were made with 2 cups 40% Bran Flakes and 4 cups All-Bran cereal. Fond memories of eating them buttered hot out of the oven before heading off to school. Thanks Mom! Checked my family recipe and like others said the sugar should be 2 cups. Mom always added tons of chopped dates, walnuts and raisins. (You can add these or not at baking time to please all family members) Thank you Tammy, I'm headed to the kitchen to make up a batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These are good, but I'd like to suggest a couple changes. #1 - use All Bran cereal for all of it. It improves the texture. You can always add raisins too. #2 - I substitute 1/2 the sugar amount with molasses. It adds moisture, a touch of extra sweetness (these are not super sweet muffins), and we love the molasses flavor! You can also add a basic muffin topping to them for added appeal - just mix melted butter, flour and brown sugar until crumbly, and add to the muffin tops. Yum! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This recipe was a hit with my family. I made it with just bran cereal. (no raisins at the request of my daughter) When I made the muffins I dropped in a few raisins or mini chocolte chips into the individual muffins and left some plain for my daughter. We had no left overs! Stored well in the refrigerator
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I made one change in thie ingredients. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar. This recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe! Very moist and delicious. Taking a tip from another reviewer, I used 6 cups of All-Bran cereal and 1 cup of plumped raisins (SunMaid baking raisins) instead of the 2C raisin bran and 4C whole bran cereals. I also substituted SplendaBake for the white sugar to reduce the calories, and no one in my house could tell the difference. This recipe makes a lot of muffins, which freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States