Bran Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I modified this recipe to have less sugar by using 1 cup of splenda brown sugar blend, 1 cup of regular splenda, and 1 cup of white sugar. Deliciously rich. I also put a blackberry in the middle of each as a nice suprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
We LOVE this recipe! I add chocolate chips and call them Chocolate Chip Muffins so my kids don't realize they are healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Very good! they do not taste quite as wonderful as the Jane Brodey ones, but still, tumbs up from me! (what are the 2nd and 3rd recipes for?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made the same adjustments with this recipe, use apple sauce vs. shorting, whole wheat flour vs. all purpose, and I added a cup of raisins. Baked a dozen and DID NOT care for them. Then added Pumpkin Pie Spice and OMG they were delicious and I received numerous compliments. I will definately make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
BEST TIP: Put muffins under a glass cake saver on your kitchen counter. Family will see the "pretty muffins" and choose a visible, easy-to-grab, healthy snack over other junk foods. Also freeze well, so bake all, freeze extras, and put note on freezer door to remind family to microwave a muffin. Yum! I can't leave any recipe alone, so made the following changes: For a healthier version, skip the raisin bran (too much sugar) and just use all bran flakes. Substituted fresh-ground whole wheat flour for the white flour. (Can substitute up to 1/3 other flours, such as oat, soy, etc., for the wheat flour. Can also substitute a cup of slow-cook oats for the flour as well.) Substitute molasses for up to 1/3 of the sugar, and also just plain reduce sugar by 1/3, (They're still plenty sweet). Substitute applesauce or pureed beans for the shortening. Substitute 1/3 of the baking soda for baking powder. Reduce salt. VARIATIONS: Spices to add: pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, nutmeg. Fruits & vegetables to add: apples, blueberries, raspberries, cranberries, raisins, craisins, grated carrots or zucchini. Other fun add-ins: jelly in the middle, chocolate chips, nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Yummy, yummy muffins. I've made these several times over several years. I've scaled the recipe to make one batch, stored it in the fridge to make bit by bit, made it in large, regular and small muffin pans, added jam to the middle, you name it. Always works well; always tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I apperciated the review by simmivet. I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manila, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Very good! It's nice to make the batter on Sundays and have nice warm muffins for before school most of the week. A little less fluffy than I would expect, but this might be due to the batter sitting around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I followed some of the other suggestions for this recipes, like halving the portions and using half brown sugar and half granulated sugar. I also tweaked it a bit myself and added about 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (for just a hint of spice) and actually ended up using heavy cream instead of buttermilk simply because that's what I had on hand. They turned out great! Although I would point out if you use large muffin tins, the cooking time is more like 20 minutes and not 15 as the recipes calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I substituted 2c shredded apples for the shortening and only used 2c sugar and 1c brown sugar and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. The recipe is great - very moist. For my 4c bran cereal, I used Uncle Sam flax cereal (inexpensive at WalMart and high in Omega 3 and 7g of fiber per serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loren
Home Town: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States