Bran Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I modified this recipe to be compliant with Phase 2 of the South Beach Diet (low sugar and "good" carbs). I substituted 1 1/2 Cups unsweetened applesauce for the shortening, Splenda for the sugar, and used whole wheat flour in place of the all purpose flour. I added 3 Tbsps Smart Balance butter to enhance the taste since fat is a flavor transfer. In addition, I reduced the baking soda to 3 tsps and added 3 tsps of baking powder. Due to my preference, I used 3 Cups Raisin Bran and 3 Cups of All Bran. The muffins came out excellent! Next time, (and there will be a next time!) I will add 1 Cup of raisins as others have suggested. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These are good, but I'd like to suggest a couple changes. #1 - use All Bran cereal for all of it. It improves the texture. You can always add raisins too. #2 - I substitute 1/2 the sugar amount with molasses. It adds moisture, a touch of extra sweetness (these are not super sweet muffins), and we love the molasses flavor! You can also add a basic muffin topping to them for added appeal - just mix melted butter, flour and brown sugar until crumbly, and add to the muffin tops. Yum! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
These bran muffins are absolutely wonderful and simple to make. I scaled the recipe down to make only 9 muffins and they still came out incredibly well. We'll surely make these regularly in the future for a quick breakfast on the go. Also, for a great variation, we added a spoonful of raspberry jam near the middle of the muffins as we were filling the cups with batter. The cooking time is the same, but you end up with a sweet surprise in every muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
BEST TIP: Put muffins under a glass cake saver on your kitchen counter. Family will see the "pretty muffins" and choose a visible, easy-to-grab, healthy snack over other junk foods. Also freeze well, so bake all, freeze extras, and put note on freezer door to remind family to microwave a muffin. Yum! I can't leave any recipe alone, so made the following changes: For a healthier version, skip the raisin bran (too much sugar) and just use all bran flakes. Substituted fresh-ground whole wheat flour for the white flour. (Can substitute up to 1/3 other flours, such as oat, soy, etc., for the wheat flour. Can also substitute a cup of slow-cook oats for the flour as well.) Substitute molasses for up to 1/3 of the sugar, and also just plain reduce sugar by 1/3, (They're still plenty sweet). Substitute applesauce or pureed beans for the shortening. Substitute 1/3 of the baking soda for baking powder. Reduce salt. VARIATIONS: Spices to add: pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, nutmeg. Fruits & vegetables to add: apples, blueberries, raspberries, cranberries, raisins, craisins, grated carrots or zucchini. Other fun add-ins: jelly in the middle, chocolate chips, nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This recipe is at least 40 years old! At that time they were made with 2 cups 40% Bran Flakes and 4 cups All-Bran cereal. Fond memories of eating them buttered hot out of the oven before heading off to school. Thanks Mom! Checked my family recipe and like others said the sugar should be 2 cups. Mom always added tons of chopped dates, walnuts and raisins. (You can add these or not at baking time to please all family members) Thank you Tammy, I'm headed to the kitchen to make up a batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe makes moist, surprisingly light muffins. I cut the sugar back to two cups, they were still plenty sweet. I also used all Raisin Bran cereal, then added extra raisins. I also added 3 tsp. vanilla. These would be terrific with chopped nuts and other goodies, but then my kids wouldn't eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I just loved this recipe... I make it often. The muffins are delicious. I did change one thing, I instead of using the two different bran cereals, I just used plan bran cereal and added my own bakers rasins. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Made this recipe and it is just fabulous. I used the extra large muffin tins and filled them half full. Then I put 4 frozen blueberries and 3 frozen raspberries in each one. I then fill the muffin cups up to 3/4 full and baked them for 30 min. at 375 deg. They are outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe is great! I halfed the recipe and used all raising bran, and added 1/2 cup dry oatmeal, reduced the sugar as well. My daughter absolutely loved these! I will be making these REGULARLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I had lost my recipe for Bran Muffins that could be made ahead and kept in the fridge, so I went searching for a new one. I am so glad I lost my recipe....this new one is just fabulous. I added a few dates I had on hand. They were just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States