Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I filled cups to nearly the top and got only 12 (not 24 muffins) but they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Simply delicious. I chose this recipe over the "Classic Bran Muffins" because this one had a little more sugar and molasses that I thought would make a sweeter muffin. I was right. This has the right amt of sweetness. The other recipe would not have enough. Also, left out raisins, don't like them. Overall, moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
These are PERFECT. Exactly what I was looking for. Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness and molasses flavor. I'm going to make them every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These muffins are delicious! Very moist with a hint of sweetness, and the molasses give the muffins a great rich flavor. I've made these a number of ways and like them best when adding 3/4 cup of quick oats to the dry ingredients for the base muffin. A mashed banana added to the bran/buttermilk mixture is yummy. I have also added a teaspoon of blackberry butter (can get from an Amish store) or any fruit jam to each muffin tin in between scoops of batter in each muffin tin for a nice filling. I have also substituted unsweetened dried apples (soaked in the butter milk for 10 minutes before adding the wheat bran) or a fresh chopped apple for the raisins and it came out great. For a nutritious breakfast, I like to eat these muffins split and spread with almond butter (or peanut butter) with a banana on the side and a glass of milk. A great way to start the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Everyone in my family loved these muffins! My almost-four-year-old ate three and then asked for another! The only change I made was to use 2% milk soured with some vinegar instead of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is an excellent sweet bran muffin. I make bran muffins for the high fibre, so am not concerned with high calories that may come with the sugar content in this recipe. This is now my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Excellent muffins! I like the gooey bran muffins from Mimi's Cafe, but my husband thinks they're too heavy. This recipe had all the sweetness, but was just moist instead of dense. I did use applesauce instead of oil, white whole wheat flour (from King Arthur) instead of all purpose, and increased the molasses to 2 tbsp. and the golden raisins to about 3/4 cup. Baked in jumbo muffin tin (six giant muffins) at 375 for about 25 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Nice, moist muffin, but a little sweet for us. I'll decrease the sugar next time. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, and I'd try to replace some of the oil with applesauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
What did I do wrong? I substituted apple sauce for the oil and lowfat milk soured with 1 tsp lemon juice for the buttermilk, and ended up with flat-topped, sticky, spongey muffins. They taste pretty good, but the texture is just weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is the best muffin recipe! I'm starting a small muffin and orange juice business and using these muffins. I wish that I was one of my customers. I've tried these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States