Bran Muffins a la Brian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have buttermilk on hand, but substituted 1tsp of white vinegar in 1 cup milk (let stand for 5 minutes after mixing). Light, fluffy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
very bland with a texture that is unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totaly Smert
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious recipe! I used honey instead of molasses. While the muffins were warm out of the oven, I added a teaspoon of a combination of honey, melted butter, and brown sugar to the top of each one. Kept them moist and gooey and delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! My man and I love it as a low fat snack. I substitute the oil with apple sauce, use low fat buttermilk and typically add a bit more raisins. To switch things up as I make at least a batch a week, I will sometimes use honey instead of molasses and blueberries with cranberries instead of raisins. Thanks so much for this now staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These are delicious! Even my teen boys like them. Breakfasts in our house will be much simpler now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I just made this recipe and subbed in whole wheat flour instead of white and added a cup of raisins. These were absolutely delicious! Nice work, Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fit_chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This recipe is great. I did a few changes though. Substituted 1/4c. apple sauce for half of the oil. I used Oat Bran instead of wheat bran. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. And I also added a litte more molasses - maybe 1-2 tsp more. Oh, and used 1% milk with 1 tbsp lemon juice for the buttermilk. I may use all apple sauce instead of oil next time. Really great flavour and they weren't flat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Well , I always feel pretty lame rating a recipe low when everyone else rates it high.....but, this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
What a yummy muffin. I think the molasses gives it a nice flavour.I'd give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~MOMMY~
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
The taste alone is worth five stars, I just had a few little problems with the result. First, they were super flat - I would have hoped that they would be a little more rounded. We didn't care for the raisins - we made half without, and enjoyed that bunch much more. Lastly, while the muffins are super moist, they fall apart quite easily. Not a big deal for at-home use, but if I was making these for a brunch or something, I'd like for them to be a little more stable. Overall, a great recipe though! Will definitely make again with a few changes. **Just made these again with applesauce instead of oil and "white whole wheat" flour instead of white -- they tasted just as great as before, so I'll stick with this healthier version. We love to eat them hot out of the oven with a drizzle of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States