Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These were delicious! I used white whole wheat flour, substituted dried cranberries since I don't care for cooked raisins, and increased cinnamon to 2 1/2 tsp. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I baked one batch at the recommended temperature and time, but ended up leaving them in for almost 30 minutes. For the second batch I tried 375º for 25 minutes, and liked the results much better. These are still incredible, though, and the recipe will definitely be a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We love these muffins. I add generous amounts of the carrots, apples, raisins and pecans. I also substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour. I bake them in 12 LARGE muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These muffins were (surprisingly) lacking in flavor and were way too moist, to the point of being pasty. With the amount of moisture the shredded carrot and apple add, this recipe could easily do away with the processed white flour for whole wheat instead, which would take care of the pastiness and add flavor. Definitely increase the cinnamon, to one or two tablespoons. It was barely noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Great muffins for being so good for you. Tried substituting applesauce for the apples and it worked great. I've made them several times now, sometimes with or without raisins. Very good! My 2 year old loves them with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These are fantastic, loved by the whole family. I used applesauce in place of the shredded apples; came out moist and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Great recipe. Omitted the sugar. I used applesauce instead. With dried fruit and applesauce there is enough sweetness in the muffin. I used whole wheat flour and whole wheat bran. Instead of the apples I used and applesauce. I also used dried cranberries and almonds. Cooked for 25 minutes in the larger muffin pans. This first batch tastes salty to me. Will omit the salt next time. But consistency and taste were overall great. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These muffins are so good. I loved them. They are so moist. I did make a few changes. I used spelt flour in place of the all-purpose flour, grape seed oil in place of the vegetable oil, almond milk in place of the skim milk, & evaporated cain juice in place of the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I think these are the best bran muffins I have ever had. This is it, I will keep this as my go to bran muffin recipe from now on. Usually when I have had bran muffins, they are dry and hard to swallow. These are chewy and moist yet dense with fiber and flax goodness. My kids gobbled them all up and had no idea how good they were for them, but I did. In fact, my kids called them cupcakes and that is fine with me! Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have emailed it to my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I am not sure what went wrong in this recipe but it took forever to bake the muffins and when they came out they did not taste good at all. My 1.5 yr old loves them and since they're healthy we're happy to give them to her but we didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States