Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
These are great fresh out of the oven. I found they became very sticky by the next day. Very tasty though, loved seeing my 4 year gobble one down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindybubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was my first time trying Bran Flax Muffins and they were really hearty and flavorful. I used leftover applesauce and was really glad I did. Husband raved about them also. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Tasty and moist. I added a bit of nutmeg, and used whole wheat flour instead of oat bran. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Yuuuuuuum. Instead of muffins I did loaves (this recipe made two loaves and it was amazing. I did do apple sauce instead of apples like someone else suggested. These are really moist and just the right amount of sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These turned out super yummy! I used whole wheat flour instead of white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
A tasty high-fiber muffin, and I even used slightly less sugar (but slightly more cinnamon). To avoid the work of shredding the carrots and apples, I simply blended them in the food processor. (Used 1 large carrot and 2 medium-sized apples, peeled.) I also used wheat brain instead of oat brain. Definitely add all of the ingredients, including raisins and nuts (I used chopped walnuts) for the ideal taste and texture. They do stick to the muffin liners while still warm, but I'm guessing they won't once completely cool, as with most muffins. They took 20 - 25 minutes to bake, not 15 -20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
These are awesome. I used whole flaxseeds plus some chia seeds. Whole wheat flour, wheat germ and dates are the only other substitutions i made. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I have made these three times now. After the first try, I double the recipe because they are SO wonderful. I do use half whole wheat(more fiber) and half spelt (more protein) flour instead of white and cut back on the sugar. This whole wheat version takes about 35-40 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These were great muffins that I feel good about eating! I make a batch for the week and re-heat each morning for breakfast. They are also great mid-afternoon for a quick, filling pick me up. Anyone doing weight watchers, mine calculated out to be 4PP, making 20 muffins. Few changes I made: used quick oats instead of bran, omitted the oil and rasins, used almonds, pastachios and pecans for my mixed nuts, used 2 tablespoons of cinnamun, a pinch of nutmeg, could prob have used more! I like these because while they are a little sweet, you won't find yourself overeating these because they are pretty dense. It's a complete meal with whole grains, veggie, fruit, and protein. Great find!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States