Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a very good muffin. The only changes that I made were to use 2 cups of apple sauce instead of the grated apples and I omitted the nuts as well. I thought the muffins turned out wonderfully moist and tasty. I made the recipe for 15 servings and ended up with 24 small muffins. This is definitely a recipe that I will save and use often. Well worth the work and effort. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I used 1c zucchini and 1c carrots...didn't have any oat bran..i used oatmeal that I put thru the grinder with the flaxseed...I also added 1/2 cranberry...these were not done at 15 min...baked for 10min more with a drizzle of agave syrup on top to enhance flavor...much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very moist! I love them. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Moist, perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great healthy recipe! I used homemade apple sauce instead of grated apples. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Halfway thru compiling the batter I said to my daughter "These muffins had better be fantastic because there are, like, 30,000 ingredients!" I'm happy to report that I was not disappointed :) These are moist and delicate and delicious. Before baking the "batter" was mostly shredded carrot with bits of brown barely holding it together, but 22 minutes later they looked just like the picture. I used extra carrot and sweet potato instead of apples, subbed wheat bran/germ for the oat bran, only 1/2 cup brown sugar, and omitted the nuts. Honestly they taste like little carrot cakes! I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wow, these are so healthy! I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Freshly ground flax seeds, and applesauce. Delicious and they keep me full well beyond lunchtime due to all the fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Love these muffins. So easy and so good. I fill paper lined muffin tin with ice cream scoop and was able to get 20 perfectly sized muffins. I ground my flax seeds and store in the freezer along with my bran and yeast containers. And they do reheat nicely during the week for easy breakfast at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made these muffins last night at they turned out delicious! a perfect snack with my morning coffee. I found that 2 medium carrots made about 2 cups shredded. I am sure these would be fine as is but I made a few minor changes, most of which are already mentioned in the other reviews. I used whole wheat for half the flour (will cut out white flour completely next time), increased the cinnamon to 3 tsp (will add more next time), added a pinch of nutmeg and ginger, shredded one apple but left the other in chunky bits. I also added a frozen raspberry into the middle of each muffin. I thought with all the fruit, raisins, etc. I could cut back on the sugar next time as they were bordering on being a bit too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe. I didn't have oat bran, used whole wheat flour instead. I also didn't have raisins, so I used dates. They froze great. I will definately make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States