Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
new favorite recipe! here are the changes I make. Most of them are just based on preference. I use 3/4 c whole wheat flour and 3/4 c. gluten free flour mix. I use wheat bran rather than oat bran. Soy milk in place of the skim milk and coconut oil rather than vegetable oil. I only use 1 c. of carrot and one apple. Then I add 1 or 2 mashed ripe bananas. Then I prefer to use chopped pecans rather than mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made these after having lost this recipe (and found it again here)...I do things a little bit different from this recipe---I add a half cup of coconut and a half cup chocolate chips along with the raisins (but omit the nuts). I also use buttermilk instead of skim milk. I also omit the oat bran and add 3 tbsp of whole flax seed. I used to make these all the time, but lost the original recipe...found this one and kind of doctored it to the way I used to make them...at any rate---they are TRES yummy no matter which way you make them (but with my additions and deletions, they are really, really good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Definitely the best muffin recipe I have ever made! I have probably made this recipe about 30 times since I've discovered it, and I wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
aMAZIng recipe. As reviewed it is difficult to ruin, and the ingredients are interchangable. Tots and picky eaters gobble these up! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Perfect for healthy muffins for breakfast. I added 1 chopped banana and added 1/2 cup of Trader Joes High Fiber Cereal and it turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I love these muffins! I have made them with the oil and without and there is not one darn difference so I leave it out. I only use 1/2 C of white flour and use wheat flour for the remaining cup. I add 1/8 tsp each of nutmeg and ground clove and use craisins instead of raisins. Every now and then I will replace the carrots with zucchini and it works great. Such a wonderfully versatile and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I was a little nervous about this recipe at first, worried it would be dry and hard and tasteless, like many before it. But I was VERY wrong!! This is an amazing healthy muffin, that is delicious and moist and very flavorful. I subbed whole wheat flour and accidentally forgot the nuts, but it was still awesome! The only thing I found was that it was a little too sweet for me and I will probably halve the sugar next time. I even froze the muffins and have been taking them out daily and they are perfect. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These turned out pretty darn good! They got even tastier as they cooled. I thought these would have more of a fruit taste with the apples and raisins but its really just a slight accent to the bran. I squeezed out some of the apple juice when I was done shredding the apples because I thought it might make the batter too wet. Maybe it would have made it more flavorful? I don't know, I'll try it that way next time. These are good muffins. I made a double batch and froze most of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I think these should be called healthy apple carrot muffins to make them sound more appetizing! They are deceptively delicious. I make them often, using almond milk and one tablespoon oil. I use whole wheat flour sometimes mixed in with the all-purpose. I've used different types of bran. They're always moist and delicious! My 2 yr old loves them. Lately I omit the nuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States