Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Excellent and moist. I used the basic recipe but had to change the add-in's in order to use what I had on hand. Instead of carrots and apples, I added a cup of coconut and a cup of golden raisins that I soaked in pineapple juice in order to plump them up. After filling the muffin tins, I topped the batter with pineapple and a struesel of melted butter, flour, brown sugar and cinnamon. They turned out very moist and were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I really enjoyed these! They were very easy to make and my husband -- for whom no muffin is ever quite moist enough -- loved them. I normally don't post changes I've made because then I didn't make the recipe, but I wanted people to know how flexible the recipe is. I used 1 c wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose, I combined flax seed and wheat germ, and I used applesauce instead of oil. I also didn't have any apples on hand, so I used zucchini. Delicious muffins that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
new favorite recipe! here are the changes I make. Most of them are just based on preference. I use 3/4 c whole wheat flour and 3/4 c. gluten free flour mix. I use wheat bran rather than oat bran. Soy milk in place of the skim milk and coconut oil rather than vegetable oil. I only use 1 c. of carrot and one apple. Then I add 1 or 2 mashed ripe bananas. Then I prefer to use chopped pecans rather than mixed nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I just made these after having lost this recipe (and found it again here)...I do things a little bit different from this recipe---I add a half cup of coconut and a half cup chocolate chips along with the raisins (but omit the nuts). I also use buttermilk instead of skim milk. I also omit the oat bran and add 3 tbsp of whole flax seed. I used to make these all the time, but lost the original recipe...found this one and kind of doctored it to the way I used to make them...at any rate---they are TRES yummy no matter which way you make them (but with my additions and deletions, they are really, really good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Definitely the best muffin recipe I have ever made! I have probably made this recipe about 30 times since I've discovered it, and I wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
aMAZIng recipe. As reviewed it is difficult to ruin, and the ingredients are interchangable. Tots and picky eaters gobble these up! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Perfect for healthy muffins for breakfast. I added 1 chopped banana and added 1/2 cup of Trader Joes High Fiber Cereal and it turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I love these muffins! I have made them with the oil and without and there is not one darn difference so I leave it out. I only use 1/2 C of white flour and use wheat flour for the remaining cup. I add 1/8 tsp each of nutmeg and ground clove and use craisins instead of raisins. Every now and then I will replace the carrots with zucchini and it works great. Such a wonderfully versatile and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I was a little nervous about this recipe at first, worried it would be dry and hard and tasteless, like many before it. But I was VERY wrong!! This is an amazing healthy muffin, that is delicious and moist and very flavorful. I subbed whole wheat flour and accidentally forgot the nuts, but it was still awesome! The only thing I found was that it was a little too sweet for me and I will probably halve the sugar next time. I even froze the muffins and have been taking them out daily and they are perfect. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States