Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My guests, family and myself loved these muffins. Delicious!!! I didn't change a thing. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Need some fibre, these are good! Doubled recipe and made the following adjustments I used 1/2 honey for brown sugar, reduced salt by half, yogurt instead of milk, reduced carrots by 1 cup & apples to 2 and added 2 cups of blueberries instead of raisins and nuts. Based on a double recipe. Baked in convection oven at 375 for 18 min. in regular large size muffin tins lined they were perfect!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Excellent muffins! Very healthy and delicious. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I found this while looking for something to do with my carrot juice pulp. These are awsome!! I did not want to stray to far from the orgional recipe the first go round. However i added some orange zest a dash of cloves and Ginger. Also increased the vanilla and dash more cinnamon. My mind is bursting with all the things I can do with this recipe can't wait to add a little pumpkin to this. My 11 year old loves these to. Thanx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Delicious! I used whole wheat flour and didn't have any nuts. I added an extra half cup of both the carrots and raisins and were still quite good. Didn't rise much though, think next time I will add more baking soda?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These muffins came out so moist. You know you are eating healthy, but with the grated apples and carrots keeping the muffins moist, they didn't taste "healthy" at all. We felt like we were indulging. And they kept very well (no dryness) for at least 2 additional days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Substituted same measurements of the following: wheat flour for flax, rolled oats for bran, and olive oil for vegetable oil. I also didn't add raisins or nuts. YUMMY! Will make again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
My grandma made these a lot during my childhood. I always felt like I was doing something good for myself when I ate one. Now that I’m grown up, I like to make them too, but with my own twist – I always chop the raisins up so they’re spread throughout the muffin more, and use pecan chips instead of mixed nuts. To eat, I slice them in half, warm them in the toaster oven, and finally, finish them with a smudge of cream cheese. Don’t let the name these muffins, or all the healthy ingredients in them, scare you away – if you didn’t see the recipe, you’d never know they had oat bran or flax in them, or that they’re low in fat and full of fiber. Bottom line? They rock! I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Very good, used 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/2 cup molasses. Added 4 teaspoons cinnamon , used coconut oil for oil .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This recipe came verbatim from the back of Bob's Red Mill package of Flaxseed Meal. Joe') and 1/2 cup wheat flour (for more protein, low in carbs and sugar - watching the glycemic index; higher in fat but it's monounsaturated and heart-healthy like olive oil). Turned out really great also. Instead of raisins (my husband doesn't like them), I used blueberries. You can substitute items to make it your own. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States