Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used garbanzo bean flour instead of oat bran. Not to replace the bran, of course, but to add a bit of protein. I also increased the milk with about 2 tablespoons since I live at 5,500 feet. They are delicious, moist and not very sweet (which I, personally, prefer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chinle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
So, I did almond milk, unsweetened vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made the recipe tonight and it was delicious! Only I added 2 banana, 1 c coconut, and 1 c dark chocolate chips. Oh and also cloves and ginger and it stilled turned out great! Definitely saving this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye Gunn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My poor little 18 month old has major constipation issues, and these were a huge help to him! It's hard to find a low fat, tasty bran muffin, so thank you for this recipe! I used coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
These are wonderful muffins. I have made many substitutions and they always turn out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
These are so delicious! I will be making these many times.It is a very flexible recipe. If I don't have a dry ingredient I substitute another dry ingredient I have on hand. Same goes for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Made the following changes/substitutions: -Upped the shredded carrots to 2 1/2 cups -Added more vanilla -1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup honey, 1/4 cup molasses (instead of all brown sugar) -Substituted 1/2 the milk for greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Excellent as-is! But if you want to mix it up, add 1/4 cup of cocoa, 1/2 cup applesauce, and some chocolate chips. You can also substitute baby-food prunes for the applesauce, and the cocoa will mask it nicely. An easy way to get a lot of healthy fiber into your kids. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These were very tasty & I'll make them again. I had to make 3 substitutions: almond milk instead of cow milk, craisins for raisins and wheat bran instead of oat bran. It made 12 super large muffins that took 20 min to bake. I didn't give it 5 stars because I hoped they would have puffed up or expanded more. The texture was more like a cake than I expected - dense but very moist. I used the food processor to chop the apples and carrots - perhaps that released too much moisture? The flavors were quite good. I'll definitely make them again. My guy says they are perfect too eat before a work out. Plan to freeze so he can reheat and take to work instead of buying muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My guests, family and myself loved these muffins. Delicious!!! I didn't change a thing. Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYONLOGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States