Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 1/2 c WW flour, 1 c regular flour. I didn't add raisins or nuts and that was a mistake. My rating is based on the way I made it, not the recipe. They came out okay. Definitely moist and don't taste like carrot at all. The fruit and nuts will add sweetness and texture which would make this a 5 star muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Love, love, love these muffins! I make them mini for the perfect size snack when I get the munchies. I've also substituted 1/2 a banana for the eggs, and soymilk for regular milk to accommodate vegan friends - it turned out just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parrishioner
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were moist, dense and delicious. When I made them the yield was nearly 2 dozen muffins. If you're making the muffins larger you should err on the side of overbaking them- 20min may not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrishioner
Home Town: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I used 1 1/2 cups bakers bran since I didn't have any flax on hand, then ground some red cabbage up in my processor (figured the kids wouldn't notice 1/2 c. of it, weird thing...it turned GREEN when it cooked so they look a bit strange, but my picky kids are eating them hot out of the oven, sooo...) also 1 c. applesauce in place of the apples, and added to carrots, dried cranberries, and raisins and up'd the cinnamon to 3 tsp. Despite the odd color mine took from my experiment with leafy greens, they tase great. My 4 yr old dtr announced she wanted these "cupcakes" for her birthday...hmmmm...a tinsy bit of icing and voila! healthy birthday option? maybe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made these muffins to use some flax seed that I purchased on sale. They are delicious and very moist. The recipe does make 15 muffins so I freeze the left-overs in a zip-lock bag. If you pop some out in the morning before work, they are thawed for a mid-morning snack! Last time I made them, i added a little mashed sweet potato. This is a good basic recipe. I'd like to try it with the addition of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GATECHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! I love these muffins. I used ground up oats rather than oat bran. They only took 12 minutes to bake in my oven. They are super moist and I ate 4 in one sitting they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These were surprisingly good. Will definitely make again - so healthy for you. I did not use the apples but added in about 1/2 cup of apple sauce, and i also used wheat bran instead of fax because that is what i had on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I must say I was really nervous on how these were going to turn out! The batter did not smell like something I would want to dig into. However, after they came out of the oven I put a little smart balance butter on one and ate it and OMG!!! It was so so so good! I did use wheat bran instead of oat because my hubby is on a high fiber diet and wheat bran is REALLY REALLY high in fiber. I also used 1 cup wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. I will be making these often! I want to make another batch just I can pass them out to friends so they can taste how good healthy can really be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Yum, so delicious and so versatile! I make these all the time for my family and every loves them! I leave out the oil. Sometimes I add a few tablespoons of peanut butter, sometimes a few of applesauce. I used half a cup of Splenda brown sugar mix, and I use whole wheat flour. They're still always delicious, and so variable. Definitely try this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelllc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a very tasty breakfast muffin. Great for "on the go" life styles. I use honey in place of sugar and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to make it healthier. Tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronStef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States