Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A great, healthy recipe. I love the texture the bran and flax gives these muffins. I substituted whole wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce for the apples, and instead of raisins I used craisins and chopped dries apricots. They are delicious and I'm especially glad I won't need to feel guilty if I cave and eat a few of them at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too labor intensive. Good taste. Substituted freshly ground spelt flower and no nuts. I love bran muffins but these just lack something. Maybe honey or molasses instead of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I love these muffins. For those who need more flavor, spice and omega 3: roast 2 cups walnuts, toast and grind the flax, 1/4 tsp. fresh grated nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. clove, ( 1-2 tsp. Ceylon cinnamon NOT!!! CASSIA Cinnamon (China cinnamon) which is toxic to the liver and kidneys probably will have to special order it cause the FDA is letting them sell it now in the U.S cause it is cheaper ), soy milk, t, 1 cup raisins, leave out the oil, use w/w pastry flour. I fill 12 sprayed muffin cups till they are well over the top and cook 30 minutes. Works for me. I love this site. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Healthy and delicious, I cooked these a tad longer than 20 mins. because I filled the muffin cups pretty full. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
We love these muffins. Great for breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
these have to be the best muffins I have ever had, I will be making these forever and sharing this recipe with every one thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My only substitution was whole wheat flour. My picky roommates devour these whenever I make them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I used soy milk insted, love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was not convinced. By the time I shredded everything I wanted to cry. But, they taste fantastic. I've used chopped dates instead of raisans as I'm not a raisan fan. Next time I'm going to use my food processor :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I love these! I give them to my 6 year old grandson for a treat too because he has constipation issues and they have really helped him. They taste delicious and he thinks he's getting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States