Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As other posters have mentioned, this recipe mirrors the Bob's Red Mill Recipe on the back of the flax bag, which does omit the oil. I followed the bag recipe and the results were moist, dense, chewy medium and mini muffins, that were a good balance of texture and flavor. Couldn't quite give the recipe 5 stars, because the flavor of the eggs and flax were too persistent in this first batch. Will have to think on how to remedy this. However, kudos to the creator of this recipe. As my boyfriend described, it is a bowl of muesli in a muffin. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
A great, healthy recipe. I love the texture the bran and flax gives these muffins. I substituted whole wheat flour, unsweetened applesauce for the apples, and instead of raisins I used craisins and chopped dries apricots. They are delicious and I'm especially glad I won't need to feel guilty if I cave and eat a few of them at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Too labor intensive. Good taste. Substituted freshly ground spelt flower and no nuts. I love bran muffins but these just lack something. Maybe honey or molasses instead of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I love these muffins. For those who need more flavor, spice and omega 3: roast 2 cups walnuts, toast and grind the flax, 1/4 tsp. fresh grated nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. clove, ( 1-2 tsp. Ceylon cinnamon NOT!!! CASSIA Cinnamon (China cinnamon) which is toxic to the liver and kidneys probably will have to special order it cause the FDA is letting them sell it now in the U.S cause it is cheaper ), soy milk, t, 1 cup raisins, leave out the oil, use w/w pastry flour. I fill 12 sprayed muffin cups till they are well over the top and cook 30 minutes. Works for me. I love this site. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Healthy and delicious, I cooked these a tad longer than 20 mins. because I filled the muffin cups pretty full. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
We love these muffins. Great for breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
these have to be the best muffins I have ever had, I will be making these forever and sharing this recipe with every one thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My only substitution was whole wheat flour. My picky roommates devour these whenever I make them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I used soy milk insted, love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was not convinced. By the time I shredded everything I wanted to cry. But, they taste fantastic. I've used chopped dates instead of raisans as I'm not a raisan fan. Next time I'm going to use my food processor :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States