Bran Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made these with a few adjustments based on other comments. The changes I made were: about 1 3/4 cup applesauce instead of apples, and just pecans since I didn't have other nuts in the house. Also increased cinnamon to 1 tbsp, and used whole wheat flour. AMAZING! They were incredibly fluffy even with the whole wheat, I think the applesauce balanced it out perfectly. Not overly sweet, but they don't taste like "health food" either - perfect for a quick breakfast with a glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Great recipe, thank you! I made this gluten free: replaced the all purpose flour with 1 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup cornstarch and 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum. Replace oat bran with same amount ground flax seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jj Viviers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amybeth
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
We added white chocolate chips. They are lucious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I was looking for a recipe so I could reproduce Trader Joe's mango/blueberry/cranberry muffins. This one was really close and they turned out great. I left out the carrots, apples and raisins and subbed in the mango/blueberries and cranberries. They did need to bake a little longer than the original recipe. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very, very good. I love the fact that it is packed with healthy ingredients and still tastes good. I made a few changes as suggested and inspired by others. I used 3/4 cups of each wheat bran, whole wheat and all purpose flour. I didn't have apples so I substituted with 1 3/4 cup of applesauce. I increased the vanilla to 2 tsp and omitted the cinnamon since I would be adding semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also substituted the carrots for zucchini. I separated the batter into two portions. One portion, I added chocolate chips and made 24 mini muffins (kids!). The second portion I added raisins and walnuts and made 12 regular muffins for the "adults". Mini muffins baked for 15 minutes. Regular muffins baked for 25 minutes. They turned out great and the kids gobbled up all that goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Try this recipe, its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markleeville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Perfect as-is. I had to bake mine for 25 min to be fully done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
At first I loved these muffins.....but on the second day the apples had molded. The funny thing is I made choc zuchini loaf the same day and was like, 'oh those green bits are just the zuchini - wait- no zuch in this!' Will try again minus the apple. Had stored in plastic container so am stumped as to why the apples turned green so quick, but still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Pretty good, the nuts give it a peanut butter like flavor and the raisins, apples and carrots keep things moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Great muffins! I made some changes: used whole wheat flour, soy milk, 1/2 apple sauce and skip the carrots. Next time I'll reduce brown sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States