Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I altered this recipe by mixing in dried cranberries and nuts in with the batter. Instead of shortening, I used applesauce to make these muffins a little more healthier (i'm all about that). Also, I substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour instead of a whole cup of all purpose flour. As suggested by other users, I decreased the salt to 1/4 tsp and added a tsp of vanilla. Also, I sprinkled some oats and cinnamon sugar on the tops of the muffins while they were baking to give them a little extra flavor and look. In the end, these bran muffins came out delicious and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebring, Florida, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Five star because husband LOVED them. I wasn't too thrilled. It was very salty, next time I might cut the salt in 1/2. For those who don't want whole flakes in their muffins try soaking the flakes in the milk mixture for 10-15 minutes. I did that and there was no sign of the flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
Not fond of raisins so I used just plain bran flakes. They turned out great. The family loved them but my husband requested that I crush the flakes first. He didn't really like finding whole flakes in his muffins. This is my new recipe for breakfast muffins. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
i also added walnuts and used a combination of half oil and half water (instead of just the oil). it still came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Nice and moist, but not very sweet. I think they were a bit too salty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
This recipe is super easy, and really good. I was surprise at how moist my muffins turned out. I substituted apple sauce for the oil to make them even healthier. Still just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best at 375 for 14 Min. Great light 8 muffins. Used 1/2 AP Four and 1/2 wheat. Will probably add the banana others suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I was very unpleased, it says to bake for 30min. After 20 min. my muffins were burnt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Not bad but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
Tasted great and was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States