Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I haven't tasted these yet, but for ease of prep and the way they smell they get 4 stars. I did double the recipe thinking I would get 24 muffins to take some to my neighbors, but I only got 12 good sized muffins, so next time I will triple the recipe and fill the muffin cup just a little less. I also think I might add a pinch of cinnamon and maybe some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Good muffins. Instead of Raisin Bran I used a Fruit and Grain cereal which gave it some nice additional fruit and nut flavors. I also used vegetable oil instead of shortening, increased the sugar slightly and added some cinnamon for more flavor. I doubled the recipe and it made 11 large muffins. They freeze real well. I take one out of the freezer for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
These muffins were light and fluffy, and not too sweet. I substituted honey for the sugar to make them a bit healthier. Not your typical heavy bran muffin, though I may try it with part whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
YUMMY and very quick. I used the suggestions below...took out the salt, used applesauce instead of oil, used half organic wheat and half organic white flour. Added a few spices and a 1/4 of chopped dates. They came out fabulous. I will keep this one in my recipe box. YUMMY THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
These came out good, but I changed/added several things: 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 all-purpose flour, used oil instead of shortening, added more raisins, added chopped pecans, and added cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, and vanilla extract. Also, it made 9 regular-sized muffins, not 12. Only cooked them for 20 minutes. Would make them again (with the changes...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I wouldn't make these again. The cooking time is to long, they are to small, dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Not the bran muffin I was expecting! Very little bran and would add a little more cinnamon on the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
These muffins were extemely dry with little flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
If you are looking for a muffin that tastes like a cupcake forget it. If you want a muffin for the times when a bowl of cereal is impractical, this is it.This is a plain, not very sweet muffin. I used honey instead of sugar, applesauce instead of oil. I whipped the egg white seperately & folded that in. I also added cinnamon & left out the salt. I got 12 regular sized muffins, no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Very good! Not as bran-y as your typical raisin bran muffins. (Or as my brother put it, "these don't taste like health food.") Quick and easy to prepare, too. However I only got nine relatively small muffins out of this amount of batter, I would double the ingredients when making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States