Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were very good, not overly sweet, but sweet enough. Not what I'd call 'healthy' because of the oil/shortning and sugar, but a nice treat. My toddler is eating it as we speak, which is why I've given it 5 stars! Like other reviewers, I found the time given WAY to long. I cooked mine at moderate, for 15 minutes in my fan-forced oven and that was perfect. Also, I didn't grease my non-stick oven tray, and they came out cleanly. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I altered this recipe by mixing in dried cranberries and nuts in with the batter. Instead of shortening, I used applesauce to make these muffins a little more healthier (i'm all about that). Also, I substituted 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour instead of a whole cup of all purpose flour. As suggested by other users, I decreased the salt to 1/4 tsp and added a tsp of vanilla. Also, I sprinkled some oats and cinnamon sugar on the tops of the muffins while they were baking to give them a little extra flavor and look. In the end, these bran muffins came out delicious and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebring, Florida, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I read the other reviews and used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 regular flour, vegetable oil instead of shortening, and a little bit of honey, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. These were very easy and yummy! Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These muffins were ok but not great. I love using the bran flakes cereal, but I think they need a bit more flavor. I'm going to try them again with maple syrup instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
These were great everyone loved them! They are great for company or just for the heck of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
These muffins were really good. My husband loved them and didn't even know they were "healthy". I made a few changes: I used honey bunches of oats instead of raisin bran and applesauce instead of the shortening. They turned out very moist and sweet. They only took about 15 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
These turned out great! I didn't change much, I used less salt, turned the temp. down to 375 and cook time to 20 min. They are perfect...topped with butter while they're still hot, mmm. I did crush the cereal and then measured it so they were more dense, but still light and fluffy. A great way to use up that leftover cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I was very unpleased, it says to bake for 30min. After 20 min. my muffins were burnt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pjt400
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
These are very good and easy to make. My BF requests a batch of these almost every week. Have replaced honey for the sugar a few times and use Raisin Bran Crunch instead of regular Raisin Bran. Doubling the recipe makes 12 good size muffins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
After reading the reviews which were VERY helpful, I changed this recipe-- COMPLETELY. I upped the bran cereal and milk, used buttermilk powder, added orange extract,dried cranberries and walnuts for flavor- substituted applesauce and honey to increase the moisture and sprinkled with brown sugar. I also decreased the salt and baking times. I think I created my own recipe-- If you would like to try these yummy muffins- I submitted them under the name--- Coffee House bran muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States