Bran Flakes Muffins with Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I actually only made these muffins because I was looking for a recipe that I had all the ingredients for. These were great. The taste totally surprised me. I will be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Best at 375 for 14 Min. Great light 8 muffins. Used 1/2 AP Four and 1/2 wheat. Will probably add the banana others suggested next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
DELICIOSO! I actually put in an overripe bananna and an apple in it and skipped the salt. Also, I used 50% more of the bran flakes, flour, milk for a standard 12 muffin pan. This was soo easy and I don't bake. Highhly recment the apple and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If ever a recipe needed tweaking it's this one. I made them because I needed a recipe with milk instead of buttermilk. My muffins developed a tough crust and were very small. I got only 9 from a recipe that said it yielded 12. The flavor was very good and I will make them again, but bake them at a lower temperature. I will also use whole bran cereal and add more raisins or dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie in St. Paul

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These muffins are soo yummy! I made them because my daughter has tummy troubles and needed extra fiber in her diet so I thought these would be good for her. They were so delicious I had to make a second batch the day after I made them because the whole family loved them. I altered a few things to better suit my family's needs... First I swapped out the sugar for brown sugar, I added a cap of vanilla but I did double the recipe so half a cap should do if you follow the recipe. I also added about 1/2-3/4 cup of homemade apple sauce. I also made them mini muffins so I only baked for 16-20 min. We loved them like this but the next batch I used half white flour and half whole wheat, I didn't even notice the difference. I would recommend these over and over. They are great as a quick breakfast, snack in a school lunch, or before bed snack. soo yummy! thanks for adding the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Htebazile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I ended up with something between a muffin and a scone when I baked these. They're still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made these twice. The first time I used butter and whole wheat flour. They were OK but very greasy and salty. The next day I made a batch with applesauce instead of the shortening, whole wheat flour, half a cup of frozen wild blueberries and half the salt. (Both times I used skim milk with no problem.) PERFECTO! The next time I am going to sprinke some sanding sugar on top for a little sweetness, as they are only mildly sweet. Oh, I only got ten muffins with both batches. I also recommend no liners; they will stick. I love these; a perfect quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Yum! Very nice for a simple muffin! I think 30 min. is too long though. I only put the muffins in for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly. I also took Patty's suggestion and added oats and cinnamon on the top before putting them in the oven. Very nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Anderson
Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
pretty good - easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I love this recipe just of the simplicity factor. I have made it only a few times and almost have it memorized. I also let it sit for just a bit to let the flakes soften up and I use whole wheat flour and substitute apple sauce for the shortening. I also have cut back on the sugar a little. I have added fresh blueberries, cranberries and more raisins. We like ours loaded with yummy stuff. I have added a bit more apple sauce until the consistency is right otherwise it was a bit dry. It is a great recipe for people who like to "Tweak" recipes to their likening. I did try and use paper cups and that was a disaster. Almost all of the muffin stuff to the cup. I am going to try and freeze them to see how well they hold up so I can take some camping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States