Bramblett's Vegetable Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Amazing! I am on a low salt diet and needed a broth recipe. Followed this exact except for adding an apple. It smelled like Thanksgiving dinner was being cooked. This is my new recipe for broth I will look no more! Flavor is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This produced a very nice stock. Ignore the typo error where it says the original recipe yields "1-1/2 quarts". The only liquid ingredient here is 1 quart (or litre) of water, so once you've let it simmer for 30 min., you're left with about 2-1/2 cups of stock. I added 1/2 cup water at the end and used the total 3 cups in the Butternut Squash Bisque recipe also on this site. This is a great use for vegetable scraps, which later got tossed in the compost bin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great recipe. I put the stock in a plastic bag after freezing in my 12 size cupcake pan. Cool and freeze larger amounts in a plastic bag or freeer container. Next time I will have 2 pots going so I can double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Thank you, after reading this-I collected my veggies and put them in the crockpot..the next time, I will brown the onions in olive oil first. In my stock- I had lots of carrots, celery, parsley,apples,some garlic, some black pepper...and lettuce (which was what I had in the fridge)..the resulting stock was very delicate and perfumey. The next day I used it in a chicken stew and it ended up a most un-hearty smelling chicken stew...I may as well have put Earl Grey in my stew. But I LOVE this idea and will keep all my veggie extras in the freezer to experiment from now onwards..thank you so much:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
fantastic stock.... However, I want to warn cooks that stock making is not a garbage dump for old, over-ripe vegetables; carrot peels; and onion roots. This makes a bitter stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This recipe worked well for me. This was my first try at making my own Veggie Stock. I wanted a higher yield of broth so I doubled the water and added more salt, it seemed to turned out great. I also didn't want to waste the strained veggies, so I pureed them with a little added broth and it came out perfectly for baby food, I might even add a few more ingredients and make a creamy vegetable soup out of it... we will see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Kutz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Excellent idea! Thank you. I now save all my cooking water from various veggies in one container in the freezer and use it to make this stock. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great flavors. Now I can "go green" and recycle all my veggie peelings. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I just finished trying out this recipe and it came out fantastically! I had to make a few slight changes due to availability of ingredients at the supermarket, I used celery hearts in place of celeriac, and because I could not get squash I used a yam in place of that and the potato peelings. I left the skin on and chopped it into small cubes, and it seemed to work out just fine. I also had some leftover bell pepper in the fridge that I threw in as well, , nearly a whole green one & a 1/2 of a red one, seemed a perfect opportunity to keep them from going to waste! I followed the cooking instructions just as written and it came out perfectly, resulting in a wonderful and very tasty broth. I searched for a way to use the leftover veggies, as I hate and can't afford to waste, and found a quite clever one. She suggested blending the veggies with some olive oil, salt and other seasonings you like, and a bit of acid such as lemon, vinegar or wine. I haven't tried this yet but fully intend to. She did say that it comes out more tasty if your vegetables were roasted before-hand, but still comes out ok if they weren't. Worth a shot! Could also make a good sauce if added to tomatoes, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great stock, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States