Braised Venison with Rosemary and Shiitake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe for venison! I made this exactley as written with excellent results. I am thinking it would be wonderful with any type of red meat. My only caution would be to those who do not care for rosemary. It can easily be omitted and I am sure it would still taste great! I see a review that said they did not like the vinegar taste. I don't see that there is any vinegar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Excellent recipe! I cooked this exactly as described and my whole family enjoyed this (I have and 11, 7 and 3 year old). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Wynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe was amazing. I could not find the seasoned vinigar, so I just used regular vinegar and added some Italian spices. I also was short on red wine so I added white wine instead, and it was delicious! My family loves venison, but I don't like it at all, so I cooked half of it with beef. The beef was amazing and my family told me it was great with venison too. I'll definately being doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! I had to use butter in stead of bacon drippings as my wife doesn't eat pork, but it was still excellent! The meat was very tender and the venison tasted distinct without being gamey. Thanks a lot, i will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was the first venison recipe I've tried that really did come out tender! I enjoyed the leftovers as much as I enjoyed it the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpollardva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of venison but the hubby is. This recipe made me a believer! One of the best I've tried. I served it with homemade spaetzle and it delightful.Will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My husband is from Germany, so he is all about sauces. He also does not like "Wild." I made this dish, when I was lucky enough to get some venison from my step-son-in-law. My husband raved..."Now, this is a German meal!" I have made this dish with pork. I have added Chanterelles and Morels. This recipe is a keeper. The more woodsy you can make it only enhances the flavors. Ruth Ward, bless her, came up with a real winner! I make home made spaetzle with this and I cook down 3 big onions in Ganse Schmaltz. They are the garnish for the spaetzle. I also buy a jar of Lingonberry preserves to set on the plate, for a touch of sweet and sour. A really great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Superb! This is a fantastic venison recipe. Our meat came out so tender. I thought of using our slow cooker, but wanted to try the recipe as stated. I think for other reviewers who said their meat came out dry, using the wrong cut of meat could have been to blame, maybe? The only change I made was using 2 beef bouillon cubes instead of one because I felt it needed a little salt...don't ask me why, I don't like salty, but it needed a little more. I also thickened my sauce at the end. My kids and hubby all loved it. They thought it was beef instead of venison. This will be a staple venison recipe in our house. Thanks, Ruth, for creating and sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My entire family enjoyed this! I even enjoyed putting this together after lunch, and it was ready by 6pm. I first cooked some bacon in a cast iron skillet to get some of the drippings, then later chopped up 3 slices to add to the mix. Once I browned the vension I added that to my slowcooker. Poured off the skillet before sauting the onion, mushrooms & garlic. I put the entire 16 oz. of baby carrots in the cooker while I brought the wine a cognac to a simmer. I added everyting to the slow cooker and cooked on low for 4 hours. Turned out great! I did not use the cornstarch, as we like a more broth-like stew, so we can sop it up with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was the best venison recipe i've used yet. great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States