Braised Venison with Rosemary and Shiitake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Tried this with bison (buffalo) instead of venison. Fantastic. Any game meat would do and I'm going to try it with fowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Wow - the venison was so tender and the rich full flavor of the sauce complimented the white rice bed I laid it on nicely. The venison iyou sometimes get with these type of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugrnts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was fantastic! The only reasons I did not give it five stars were that I thought 2 cups of wine was too much and the cooking time was not sufficient. Next time I will use the slow cooker after browning the meat and sauteeing the onions, garlic and mushrooms. It also took longer than 30 minutes to fully cook the carrots, I would put them in the last 45 minutes to an hour of cooking. I will definitely make this again. We like venison and I'm always looking for different ways to make it since we have a freezer full after hunting season! This one definitely made the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Excellent recipe! I cooked this exactly as described and my whole family enjoyed this (I have and 11, 7 and 3 year old). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Wynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made it with beef steak instead of venison, and used Merlot for wine, but all the same, it turned out soooo good! Excellent dish, nice sophisticated flavor, great for a romantic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I followed the recipe until I realized I only had one teaspoon of fresh rosemary on hand. Oops! Maybe that is why mine was a little less flavorful than I had expected. I ended up adding the bacon I used to come up with the grease (about 4 strips). It was still very good. The meat was very tender. Everyone else really seemed to like it. I would make it again with the full amount of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
quite good...i used beef cubes instead of venison..i floured and browned meat cubes after frying the bacon and then added rest of the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Not sure what happened, the meat came out tough, dry, and tasting of vinegar. 0_o Probably my issue and not one with the recipe though, I'm still learning how to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This recipe was amazing. I could not find the seasoned vinigar, so I just used regular vinegar and added some Italian spices. I also was short on red wine so I added white wine instead, and it was delicious! My family loves venison, but I don't like it at all, so I cooked half of it with beef. The beef was amazing and my family told me it was great with venison too. I'll definately being doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! I had to use butter in stead of bacon drippings as my wife doesn't eat pork, but it was still excellent! The meat was very tender and the venison tasted distinct without being gamey. Thanks a lot, i will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States