Braised Venison with Rosemary and Shiitake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very Decent. But it lacked any sort of distinguishing characteristic to set it apart from any other 'beef stew' circo 1975. It's missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe. A friend gave me 1.5 pounds of venison backstrap. I'd never cooked venison before, but others told me that backstrap is the best cut there is. Still, I was leery about how this would cook up - would it be greasy, or tough, or taste really gamey? I made this exactly as written, adding the optional cognac and baby carrots. The red wine I used was a Beaujolais, and I did thicken the sauce with the optional cornstarch and water. I served the results over egg noodles, and it lasted me for three fairly big dinners. It tasted great. The meat was a tad dry, but maybe that's the nature of venison; not a complaint at all, just noting that. The texture was very nice - I can see why someone I read online compared backstrap to filet mignon. I hardly know French cooking, but this just looked like something from that cuisine. If I'm ever lucky enough to get more venison, I'll make this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
If you choose to slow cook, cook down the liquids 70% after removing vegetables and venison. The results were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was the best venison recipe i've used yet. great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My entire family enjoyed this! I even enjoyed putting this together after lunch, and it was ready by 6pm. I first cooked some bacon in a cast iron skillet to get some of the drippings, then later chopped up 3 slices to add to the mix. Once I browned the vension I added that to my slowcooker. Poured off the skillet before sauting the onion, mushrooms & garlic. I put the entire 16 oz. of baby carrots in the cooker while I brought the wine a cognac to a simmer. I added everyting to the slow cooker and cooked on low for 4 hours. Turned out great! I did not use the cornstarch, as we like a more broth-like stew, so we can sop it up with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Superb! This is a fantastic venison recipe. Our meat came out so tender. I thought of using our slow cooker, but wanted to try the recipe as stated. I think for other reviewers who said their meat came out dry, using the wrong cut of meat could have been to blame, maybe? The only change I made was using 2 beef bouillon cubes instead of one because I felt it needed a little salt...don't ask me why, I don't like salty, but it needed a little more. I also thickened my sauce at the end. My kids and hubby all loved it. They thought it was beef instead of venison. This will be a staple venison recipe in our house. Thanks, Ruth, for creating and sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My husband is from Germany, so he is all about sauces. He also does not like "Wild." I made this dish, when I was lucky enough to get some venison from my step-son-in-law. My husband raved..."Now, this is a German meal!" I have made this dish with pork. I have added Chanterelles and Morels. This recipe is a keeper. The more woodsy you can make it only enhances the flavors. Ruth Ward, bless her, came up with a real winner! I make home made spaetzle with this and I cook down 3 big onions in Ganse Schmaltz. They are the garnish for the spaetzle. I also buy a jar of Lingonberry preserves to set on the plate, for a touch of sweet and sour. A really great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe for venison! I made this exactley as written with excellent results. I am thinking it would be wonderful with any type of red meat. My only caution would be to those who do not care for rosemary. It can easily be omitted and I am sure it would still taste great! I see a review that said they did not like the vinegar taste. I don't see that there is any vinegar in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of venison but the hubby is. This recipe made me a believer! One of the best I've tried. I served it with homemade spaetzle and it delightful.Will defintely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was the first venison recipe I've tried that really did come out tender! I enjoyed the leftovers as much as I enjoyed it the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpollardva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States