Braised Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My family and I loved it! The flavors in this dish are scrumptious. My teenaged daughter helped to make dinner. Because the directions were well written, she was able to do a great job in making this dish! To make it was very easy and fast! I made it as a main dish to Asian Coconut Rice ( http://sidedish.allrecipes.com/AZ/sinCcntRic.asp ) The two flavors go extremely well together. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
It's great! I used a bit of onion and a lot of brocolli instead of the veggies recommended -and everything still worked out brilliantly. note: use a nonstick pan. first attempt to braise tofu in an non- non-stick was less successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Wow! This was absolutely delicious!!! Very authentic tasting to an asian gal. Close to mom's cooking at home! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Couldn't wait to try this dish, it sounded just delicious, but after making it, I found that it was a bit too bland for my liking (and I even added extra oyster sauce - double). I kept it, however, and the next day it tasted much, much better. I think I might make this again, but I would definitely add more vegetables and add more sauce or wait a couple of hours before eating it. But overall, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I used this recipe as a starting point for my stir fry of the night. I liked braising it as suggested though I used a nonstick pan and very little oil. For my veggies, all I had were mushrooms and carrots. I also sauteed garlic with them. For the sauce, I didn't use as much water, added a little soy sauce, and added crushed red pepper flakes that soaked while I did other things. When I added the sauce, I also added a handful of cooked rice noodles and heated everything up together. Turned out great but hardly I followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I like the sauce in this. I do think it is better when previously frozen tofu is used. Gives it that chewy texture. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I've made so many mistakes cooking tofu in the past. It's usually just ended up a bland ugly mess. For this recipe, I marinated cubed extra-firm tofu overnight in a mixture of hoisin sauce, oyster sauce, Thai chili and garlic paste, sesame oil, and minced garlic. I then pretty much followed the recipe, although I ended up adding a bit more oyster sauce to the mix. I served it over angel hair pasta, with a sprinkle of sliced green onions. Good stuff. Thanks, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Not too bad. I fried tofu a bit longer for some extra texture. I added bok choy instead of mushrooms, and the bok choy was my favorite part! :o) I didn't think it tasted very good when I ate it for lunch, but it tasted much better for dinner. I think it needed some time to marinate or something? I had it two days in a row (I'm the only one who will eat vegetarian in the house) so it had to have been pretty good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Excellent recipe! My husband and I loved this dish! I didn't change a single thing on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
It didn't turn out that great. I don't know if it's because I used frozen peas instead of snow peas, since I can't find any at Safeway. It was too watery and the tofu just taste like any regular tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States