Braised Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was delicious and I will definetely make it again. I coated the tofu first in flour and deep fried them to make them crispy. I did not add the mushrooms or water chestnuts but added more oyster sauce to the snow peas, topped the dish with the fried tofu and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LittleMissCooker
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Way to plain, felt like eating cardboard. My family didn't mind it though. I accidently used edame beans (instead of sugar snap peas) and i didn't know the outsides weren't edible, so i had to go through every pod and take out the beans!!! Ugh this recipe only shouold be used on extremaly-plain pallets!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Extremely bland. No flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
healthy meal but flavor is really boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
for about 4 pieces of tofu, I sliced it up and fried it with olive oil, set it aside and fried up a very small amount of ground pork and sliced onions then mixed it together with 1 tblsp of oyster sauce with about 2 tblsp of water. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
i made this and it came out pretty tasty. i did not add the water chestnuts but i did use double the oyster sauce and instead of water, i used the water from the reconstituted shitake mushrooms for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I used this recipe as a starting point for my stir fry of the night. I liked braising it as suggested though I used a nonstick pan and very little oil. For my veggies, all I had were mushrooms and carrots. I also sauteed garlic with them. For the sauce, I didn't use as much water, added a little soy sauce, and added crushed red pepper flakes that soaked while I did other things. When I added the sauce, I also added a handful of cooked rice noodles and heated everything up together. Turned out great but hardly I followed the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I wasn't too impress and wouldn't rush to make it again. I have to agree it does does better overnight, but still, not top of my favorite list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Couldn't wait to try this dish, it sounded just delicious, but after making it, I found that it was a bit too bland for my liking (and I even added extra oyster sauce - double). I kept it, however, and the next day it tasted much, much better. I think I might make this again, but I would definitely add more vegetables and add more sauce or wait a couple of hours before eating it. But overall, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Good idea, but bland. I didn't use sesame oil (didn't have it in the house...) but the recipe lacks flavor of any kind. I added garlic and red pepper to give it some taste. I also put in a lot more vegetables- I put in not only snow peas and water chestnuts, but also sliced carrots and broccoli to make a true stir fry. I'll probably make it again, but with lots more flavorings and vegetables. I ate it with coconut rice, and it was a really filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Saba Braised Lamb Shanks

Succulent, tender lamb shanks braised with a savory Italian secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States