Braised Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I think this is an excellent base recipe for braising rabbit. It is rather tasty as is, but also leaves room for personal preferences to be added. I personally prefer to just rub mny meats with oil rather than use a measured amount, but thats a personal choice. I have also tried adding fennel, rosemary, and allspice in different quantity and combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was my first time making OR eating rabbit...ever! It was delicious! I did stray from this recipe though. I found 3 different recipes that I liked components of, so I used a bit of each. Here is my recipe - using a dutch oven for everything. * Soak dried Porcini mushrooms in 2 cups of water for 30-60 mins. Then drain water through a coffee filter, but save the water!* 1. Brown rabbit in olive oil on each side. Then remove from pan and set aside. Make sure the oil covers bottom of the pan...about 1/4 cup. 2. In remaining olive oil, cook onions and fresh pressed garlic. 3. Add 1/2 cup white cooking white and 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar to pan. Bring to boil. 4. Next, add 2 cups chicken broth, 2 cups mushroom water, rosemary and thyme. 5. Add rabbit back into pan, cover and cook at 350 for 1 hr to 1 1/2 hrs. Your rabbit is done when you can stick a fork in it and it feels tender. I served my rabbit with mashed white sweet potatoes and oven roasted asparagus with toasted almonds. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was very good and I've never cooked rabbit before... I followed the directions exactly, and it was great! I think my rabbit was done about 5 min sooner than expected, but everything tasted very good. The gravy was quite perfect over mashed potatoes and I'll probably try this recipe again with chicken (we never eat rabbit!). Next time will serve w/ a salad and mashed potatoes. Thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. My husband loves rabbit and he absolutely loved it. For me it was a blessing to find some way to cook it that was easy, not complicated and delicious. I am certain I will be cooking this again. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I never had, much less made, rabbit before...what a suprise! I LOVED IT! This recipe is so easy and healthy, big hit with everyone at the table. Definitely calls for an Encore! *Tips* - Next time i'm going to reduce the amount of lemon to 2 Tablespoons, to cut the sweetness. We had this with mashed potatoes but it would go better with a twice-baked potato or loaded mashed, since the sauce was better paired with the rabbit and not over potatoes like we tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
DON`T TASTE GOOD GOSH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Make the rabbit taste wonder ,, made for the family ,the didn't use to like rabbits , they enjoy it in a way they never did before :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My son shot a rabbit in our back yard, skinned and cleaned it. The least I could do was cook it! This recipe has a wonderful aroma, delicious! I only subbed balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice. But the dang rabbit never became tender, after 2 hours of moist cooking. Great recipe, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This smelled amazing while cooking! I didn't have any chicken stock, but I substituted it for 1 c vegetable stock and 1 c red wine. This was the first time ever eating or cooking rabbit, and this was a super easy and tasty recipe to start out with! Rabbit tasted like a refined combination of pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I had no idea that rabbit was sweet. This was great. Just the right mixture of all the right spices. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States