Braised Rabbit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Good recipe. I have never made rabbit before. This recipe is very easy. The rabbit meat was tender. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
My son shot a rabbit in our back yard, skinned and cleaned it. The least I could do was cook it! This recipe has a wonderful aroma, delicious! I only subbed balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice. But the dang rabbit never became tender, after 2 hours of moist cooking. Great recipe, though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This smelled amazing while cooking! I didn't have any chicken stock, but I substituted it for 1 c vegetable stock and 1 c red wine. This was the first time ever eating or cooking rabbit, and this was a super easy and tasty recipe to start out with! Rabbit tasted like a refined combination of pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I had no idea that rabbit was sweet. This was great. Just the right mixture of all the right spices. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Really good recipe! Our friend went hunting and gave us a rabbit. I have never had it before, and didn't really know what to expect. I've heard mixed reviews, but after this recipe I am no longer as wary to eat it! My boyfriend was afraid, but REALLY liked it and said it tasted just like chicken. The flavor was great, and it was very moist. I didn't have lemon juice, so I used orange. I also threw in some fresh mushrooms and a dash of wine. It tasted great! Thanks for the recipe! I will use it again if I get another rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okalice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was very good and I've never cooked rabbit before... I followed the directions exactly, and it was great! I think my rabbit was done about 5 min sooner than expected, but everything tasted very good. The gravy was quite perfect over mashed potatoes and I'll probably try this recipe again with chicken (we never eat rabbit!). Next time will serve w/ a salad and mashed potatoes. Thanks Dawn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We thought this was excellent, the gravy was wonderful over mash potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
DON`T TASTE GOOD GOSH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I think this is an excellent base recipe for braising rabbit. It is rather tasty as is, but also leaves room for personal preferences to be added. I personally prefer to just rub mny meats with oil rather than use a measured amount, but thats a personal choice. I have also tried adding fennel, rosemary, and allspice in different quantity and combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States