Braised Rabbit with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wlad78
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
we did everything as in recipe and really loved what we got. this picture and dish requires something green on top like chaves (green young onion) and/or persil etc. Try and u have big chance to love it. tnx to original submiter for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wlad78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I did add a can of golden mushroom soup and extra broth. I came out like a rabbit stew. Thanks to the person that submitted the recipe because I love rabbit and never sure how to fix it. We served it over rice and mash potatoes. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puhutes
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I've never had rabbit before so I had no idea how to cook it. I didn't have access to cream of mushroom soup so I used a mushroom gravy instead and a cup of vegetable broth. The rest of the recipe remained pretty much the same and I served it with rice. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Will be doing again but probably wont be using rabbit. (nothing wrong with the rabbit, just not enough meat) will probably use chicken. Only changes i made was using red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missymar
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this into a 10 star dinner! Never had rabbit before, but it was just so delicious. It was mostly the sauce that did it. I first fried up 1/4 lb. of bacon and used the drippings to brown the floured rabbit in, then put the bacon crumbled up into the sauce. I added 1 c dry white wine instead of water. I added 1 tsp. of dried thyme and 1 tsp. dried rosemary. Also cut up 1 med onion and added to the carrots and potatoes. I used all the called for ingredients and just made these extra additions. So I did alter the recipe a bit, but it really was a dish to remember. Next time, I'll try it with chicken parts so my husband will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal! The only thing I did differently was to brown the rabbit pieces in bacon fat, and I used half water/ half milk in the sauce. Will definitely make this again, although next time I will probably serve it with mashed potates. Thanks, Bluemonday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Have made this twice and it's wonderful. I raise California rabbit's and had to double the recipe for the bigger rabbit. My whole family rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was amazing! I just made it for Father's Day. Only changes I made were to lightly brown the rabbit pieces in bacon grease after they were dredged. I also had to make double the flour mixture and I used ground garlic instead of garlic salt in the flour mixture. I added the bacon to the pan. I cut my carrots and potatoes a little bigger - that was wise - and I made my own cream of mushroom soup - it would taste just fine with canned. I cooked it in our Kamada (like a Green Egg) for about 2 hours. This was so amazing that it seemed like my eyes would roll back in my head. None of my changes would be necessary (except maybe the bacon). Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
A new favorite! I used safflower oil instead of vegetable oil, red potatoes (left the skin on), and a pound of fresh mushrooms instead of the canned, but it came out perfect! I was skeptical of the Italian seasoning, but it added just the right amount of flavor. I might add a little salt to the sauce next time (probably because of the fresh mushrooms vs canned). I think I'm going to try this with guinea hen or even pheasant. Absolutely delicious. Thank you for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara N
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My husband loves game meat. He brought home some rabbit, and I had no idea what to do with it. I found this recipe, tried it out, and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States