Braised Rabbit with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Have made this twice and it's wonderful. I raise California rabbit's and had to double the recipe for the bigger rabbit. My whole family rated this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missymar
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this into a 10 star dinner! Never had rabbit before, but it was just so delicious. It was mostly the sauce that did it. I first fried up 1/4 lb. of bacon and used the drippings to brown the floured rabbit in, then put the bacon crumbled up into the sauce. I added 1 c dry white wine instead of water. I added 1 tsp. of dried thyme and 1 tsp. dried rosemary. Also cut up 1 med onion and added to the carrots and potatoes. I used all the called for ingredients and just made these extra additions. So I did alter the recipe a bit, but it really was a dish to remember. Next time, I'll try it with chicken parts so my husband will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My family loved this recipe. I did add a can of golden mushroom soup and extra broth. I came out like a rabbit stew. Thanks to the person that submitted the recipe because I love rabbit and never sure how to fix it. We served it over rice and mash potatoes. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wlad78
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
we did everything as in recipe and really loved what we got. this picture and dish requires something green on top like chaves (green young onion) and/or persil etc. Try and u have big chance to love it. tnx to original submiter for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wlad78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Absolutely phenomenal! The only thing I did differently was to brown the rabbit pieces in bacon fat, and I used half water/ half milk in the sauce. Will definitely make this again, although next time I will probably serve it with mashed potates. Thanks, Bluemonday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puhutes
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I've never had rabbit before so I had no idea how to cook it. I didn't have access to cream of mushroom soup so I used a mushroom gravy instead and a cup of vegetable broth. The rest of the recipe remained pretty much the same and I served it with rice. Delicious, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Will be doing again but probably wont be using rabbit. (nothing wrong with the rabbit, just not enough meat) will probably use chicken. Only changes i made was using red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Really let down. Very watery, don't expect a gravy. Not much flavor. All the crust from frying the rabbit falls off and when you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I had never tried rabbit before. Me and my boyfriend were pleasantly surprised that it wasn't gamey & taste pretty much like chicken. This recipe was a good choice for a first time rabbit dish. It took me quite a long time to prepare though between cutting up the rabbit (wish I had a sharper knife), boiling, using the skillet & setting up the oven pan. Luckily, my boyfriend was helping because I probably would have burned something in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jwalker78000
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I would highly recomend this one! I followed this recipe pretty close. I added a little bit of cayenne to my flour for a little kick. I accidenly got roasted garlic mushroom soup but didnt put any fresh garlic in the dish. I didnt have any carrots so I added an onion. Next time i will use all three root vegatables. The rabbit turned out tender and full of flavor! I served it with mashed potatoes even though I used them in the dish. I will try it with rice next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States