Braised Leeks and Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
this turned out great. i actually couldn't find mustard greens so i substituted with kale and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I love leeks! And the combo with the tart mustard greens was lovely. I made a simple baked chicken and added some mushrooms and garlic. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Took a chance on a recipe with only 2 reviews because I had leeks and kale to use up. These are GOOD. They look appetizing when cooked and have a lightly sweet (from the carmelized leeks), lightly salty, and very flavorful taste. I liked them, my husband liked them, and most of my kids liked them. The recipe was ridiculously simple and fast and has a lot of nutrition. I will definitely make this as an easy, healthy side dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
this was really good and very easy. love mustard greens but never though to put with leeks. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I always use kale and usually about a full cup of chicken consomme. I also give it a sprinkle of lemon juice after it's cooked which really brings it to life. It cooks quickly, but preparing the kale and leeks is actually pretty time consuming. UPDATE/SIDE NOTE: adding citrus (like lemon or lime juice) to your greens helps your body absorb the nutrients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My first ever attempt at leeks or mustard greens and I enjoyed how it turned out. The greens have a very distinct flavor that the leeks mellow. If you like greens, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yes, it was very good. I added 2 fresh cloves of garlic, 6 oz of organic chicken broth and then a can of drained butter beans. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I thought this was excellent, and SO quick and easy. The butter/broth/leeks combo worked really well with the greens, which ended up having a really nice texture. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by serenemom4
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out great! I had a can of seasoned greens so I used those instead of fresh greens and chicken broth. I had two 5oz ribeye steaks so I broiled them, sliced them up and topped 4 plates of greens with the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Good basic recipe ... I used 3 leeks, 3 cups kale, and 4 garlic cloves. I mixed the veggies with cooked quinoa and some chopped walnuts, and added some leftover sauce from a restaurant meal (I think it was miso based). Added parm - delicious and a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States