Braised Leeks and Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by serenemom4
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out great! I had a can of seasoned greens so I used those instead of fresh greens and chicken broth. I had two 5oz ribeye steaks so I broiled them, sliced them up and topped 4 plates of greens with the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Good basic recipe ... I used 3 leeks, 3 cups kale, and 4 garlic cloves. I mixed the veggies with cooked quinoa and some chopped walnuts, and added some leftover sauce from a restaurant meal (I think it was miso based). Added parm - delicious and a complete meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
this was really good and very easy. love mustard greens but never though to put with leeks. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadrag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Auberry, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love Love Love!!!!! This will be a regular at our table. We use WAY more parm cheese on each serving (or parm/asiago mix) and I always add fresh minced garlic (multiple cloves). We've played with proportions at times, due to having more greens and less leeks in the fridge - it has always turns out great. Thank you so much Gardener98 for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fan-freakin-tastic! I've never cooked leeks before and never even eaten mustard greens and this was great! I've absolutely love it and have a new favorite veggie dish :) Also, I used just a small amount of virgin olive oil (maybe a teaspoon) in place of butter. Holy moly it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of greens but I'm trying to eat healthier. This recipe helped me cook them but adding Thai Garlic Chili sauce as a condiment made this seriously good. I'm happily chowing down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
My husband and I LOVE this dish! I always use kale and usually about a full cup of chicken consomme. I also give it a sprinkle of lemon juice after it's cooked which really brings it to life. It cooks quickly, but preparing the kale and leeks is actually pretty time consuming. UPDATE/SIDE NOTE: adding citrus (like lemon or lime juice) to your greens helps your body absorb the nutrients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
My first ever attempt at leeks or mustard greens and I enjoyed how it turned out. The greens have a very distinct flavor that the leeks mellow. If you like greens, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rowangrey
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Delicious, and super easy to make! The only hitch I had with this recipe was that I thought the ratio of leeks to greens was way off. The leeks I bought were pretty big (maybe 6" long after trimming, and 1.5" in diameter) and even three would have been, I thought, way too many. I ended up halving the amount of leeks, and doubling the mustard greens. I omitted the Parmesan (personal taste) and only gave the greens a tiny sprinkle of salt. They were amazingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Yummy! I did do some of the suggestions in the some of the other review - I added chopped garlic and a partially drained can of butter beans - and this will be a staple for my household. Tabasco sauce brings the flavors out nicely. The bonus is that this is a user-friendly recipe... Quick and simple! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States