Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was excellent! I used 1/2 the balsamic and added a bit of brown sugar, otherwise left the recipe as-is. The best I've ever had. Used a favorite red zin wine - made all the difference! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was absolutely amazing! I made it for dinner last night, followed everyone's advice and cut the vinegar by half. My husband was very impressed, and he loves lamb. I can not wait to make this recipe for company- it is simple to prepare and the end result is just superb. This one is definitely a keeper, and one that I will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight. Oh, my gosh! The lamb just fell off the bone. My husband said this is definitely company food. Even if someone didn't care for lamb, they would like this dish. I did use half of the vinegar & it was just the right amount. I served sauteed asparagus, red potato mashed potatoes & spinach salad with the shanks. The sauce from the meat was really good on the potatoes also. Next time, we decided, we will try this recipe with beef shanks.Edit 6/05: Made this recipe again.I realized that I left something out of my previous review. There was a lot of sauce left over so I put it on some pasta a couple of days later. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
First time preparing lamb shanks and decided to do it for Valentine's Day dinner for my hubby. I put in the oven for 3hrs and around about the end of the 1st hour the aroma that was coming from the kitchen was unbelievable. Hubby thought he was at a 5star restaurant. He now wants this dish at least once a month, I don't mind cause it's so simple to prepare. Thank you Mrs. Savage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Based on the other reviewers' advice, I only used 1/2 of the balsamic vinegar. The resulting flavor was PERFECT!! The lamb was so tender and juicy, and the sauce goes great on top of mashed potatoes :) . Just keep an eye on the lamb while it is baking so you don't overcook it, mine was done in 2.5 hours, not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Delish! Love the flavor. Adding a bit more brown sugar, or cutting down on the vinegar really does the trick. Too bad Lamb Shanks are not always readily available in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
meat fell off of bone. yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Unfortunately i only read the first few reviews and not the last ones that commented about too much vinegar! I have tried to add honey, brown sugar, beef stock but its still too vinegary for me sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This dish was fabulous, I didn't change a thing. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the lemon and balsamic gave it a great tang. I am definitely serving this next time my in-laws are down, you pop it in the oven and forget about it until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
If you like lamb, this was an AMAZING dish.. I strongly recommend that you make this! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aulie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States