Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
First time preparing lamb shanks and decided to do it for Valentine's Day dinner for my hubby. I put in the oven for 3hrs and around about the end of the 1st hour the aroma that was coming from the kitchen was unbelievable. Hubby thought he was at a 5star restaurant. He now wants this dish at least once a month, I don't mind cause it's so simple to prepare. Thank you Mrs. Savage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Based on the other reviewers' advice, I only used 1/2 of the balsamic vinegar. The resulting flavor was PERFECT!! The lamb was so tender and juicy, and the sauce goes great on top of mashed potatoes :) . Just keep an eye on the lamb while it is baking so you don't overcook it, mine was done in 2.5 hours, not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Delish! Love the flavor. Adding a bit more brown sugar, or cutting down on the vinegar really does the trick. Too bad Lamb Shanks are not always readily available in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
meat fell off of bone. yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Unfortunately i only read the first few reviews and not the last ones that commented about too much vinegar! I have tried to add honey, brown sugar, beef stock but its still too vinegary for me sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This dish was fabulous, I didn't change a thing. The meat was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the lemon and balsamic gave it a great tang. I am definitely serving this next time my in-laws are down, you pop it in the oven and forget about it until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
If you like lamb, this was an AMAZING dish.. I strongly recommend that you make this! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aulie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
As good as any I've had. All a shank should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! A little brown sugar will also cut down the sourness. I found that this worked really well in a crock pot as well as the oven. I've also used diced leeks and zucchini on the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Made a wonderful valentines dinner! Based on other reviews I cut back on the balsamic vinegar. Served it with soft polenta - perfect match! I have set this recipe aside to use with company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States