Braised Lamb Shanks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this twice now. We used sweet red wine the second time and it came out better, much more rounded. Almost like an Italian sweet and sour with the balsamic and lemon. Also put in some fresh rosemary, it grows in our yard and goes with everything in this dish. The shanks come out with almost a BBQ like bark on top, and fall apart into moist tender deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is awesome! Used merlot and then drank the rest with dinner. The only negative is that I don't have a Dutch over so used my Pyrex casserole dish. The lid is soaking and hopefully will recover from the burnt on sauce. But will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I agree that this is a great recipe for non-lamb lovers. It made a believer out of me. I tweaked it a little since I didn't have some of the ingredients but had to make it for my husbands birthday meal since he loves lamb. I only added 1/4 cup of vinegar but probably could have omitted it altogether since I also added capers! Also I only had a half a yellow onion so I added green onions with it. Left out the lemon completely and spread minced garlic over the shanks, and added 2 more cloves of roughly chopped garlic to sauce. Used a good sweet red Zin and ONE 14oz. can of stewed Italian tomatoes I chopped in smaller pieces, which was plenty. Sprinkled dry basil on top and would leave out the oil next time as there was plenty of fat from the lamb. I also added some peeled potato pieces to thicken and absorb the sauce during cooking. After dinner, I couldn't stop picking at it! The sauce was so tasty. Next time I will add mushrooms too. It smelled like lamb, but didn't taste like it. I will make this again for my husband and will enjoy it with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing. Plenty of leftover gravy to put on pasta, too. Really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this recipe to scale, but only added 1 lemon quartered. I found with even this the oil from the peel gave the dish a bitter after-taste. I would either peel the lemon or omit it altogether. After 3 hours meat was very tender and fell off the bone, but couldn't overcome the lemon-oil after-taste,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this as directed with the only change being that I halved the vinegar and also the lemon but I wasn't too thrilled with the results. It came out much too sweet, oily, and lemony. Also, as written, the instructions for the lemon are confusing. It reads that there should be 2 lemons quartered and if I'm supposed to place a lemon quarter on each side, it doesn't make much sense unless the pan is 8 sided?? I *think* it should have read 2 lemons halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I'm sorry but even with half the balsamic vinegar, 2 tablespoon brown sugar, and one lemon I thought liquid was too sour. The meat was delicious. I like that this recipe does not require browning the shanks in oil before baking. I grilled the meet on the bbq for about 8 minutes to burn off some fat and get that smoked flavor. Next time I will omit the lemons and vinegar altogether and just use red wine. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Downhillshot
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This recipe works even if you don't have the balsamic vinegar and basil. You just might want to tone down the amount of vinegar if you use a different kind. I also used Lamb Shoulder Steaks instead of Lamb Shanks and it still turned out excellent in my book. As a side dish I just boiled up some celery, carrots, and red peppers with a little garlic, salt, and black pepper. According to the rest of the household everything turned out well. They think that I put a bit too much black pepper in with the vegetables. Something along the lines of it being too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Garden City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is the best recipe I have ever found on this website! Excellent! It is pretty easy, and the result is outstanding! (The only thing I changed is I reduced the salt a little) Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
We love lamb and this recipe in particular. Agree with most about the vinigar and cut to 3/4 cup, used 8 cloves of garlic too. With 1 hour remaining we added 12 quarted fresh mushrooms. Best served with "Country Pride Egg Noodles which can be found at most Walmart's; this brand makes a big dirrerence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Rosemary Braised Lamb Shanks

Lamb shanks are slow-simmered in a flavorful red wine sauce.

Jinx-Proof Braised Lamb Shanks

See how to make rich, delicious, totally tender lamb shanks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States